#1  
Old 24th November 2006, 18:52
wrender wrender is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default DNS Issue

Hello,

I moved our server from Fedora 5, to Suse Enterprise 10. When I did this I had a lot of problems with the "Server settings" on the Enterprise 10. I eventually found out, that this was because I copied over my old ISP-config databases, which held the architecture specific settings for Fedora 5. I then changed them to corrispond with the SUSE Enterprise 10 layout, and everything ran smooth.... UNTIL I went to host my own dns. I then realized that I needed to change the location of the zone files from /etc/named/ to /var/lib/named.
So I changed it... but i'm still having dns issues.

I use 1and1.com for my dns... but I followed the nice tutorial on go-daddy that was for dns. I just applied the same concept to my servers.

So here is what I have....

Two domains.
otherdatanetworks.com -with name servers set to ns1.otherdatanetworks.com and ns2.otherdatanetworks.com (maybe this should be set to 1and1's dns?)

ns1.otherdatanetworks.com - points to first ispconfig server
ns2.otherdatanetworks.com - points to second ispconfig server (This server isn't finished yet)

otherdata.com - with name servers set to ns1.otherdatanetworks.com and ns2.otherdatanetworks.com

On the first ispconfig server, i have setup a Master DNS for otherdata.com, and added all of the records according to the go-daddy dns tutorial.

Wes
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th November 2006, 19:07
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,964
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,366 Times in 4,213 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrender
Hello,

I moved our server from Fedora 5, to Suse Enterprise 10. When I did this I had a lot of problems with the "Server settings" on the Enterprise 10. I eventually found out, that this was because I copied over my old ISP-config databases, which held the architecture specific settings for Fedora 5.
Correct. A hint when you move a server the next time, do not overwrite the isp_server and isp_server_ip tables on the new installation with the data from your old server. These two tables contain the server specific settings.

Quote:
I then changed them to corrispond with the SUSE Enterprise 10 layout, and everything ran smooth.... UNTIL I went to host my own dns. I then realized that I needed to change the location of the zone files from /etc/named/ to /var/lib/named.
So I changed it... but i'm still having dns issues.
Does the path always changes back to the old value? ISPConfig checks if the path exists, this check is done by the user admispconfig, so you will have to make sure that the folder /var/lib/named has the permissions that admispconfig can "see" it, e.g put a global read permissions on it.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.

Last edited by till; 25th November 2006 at 10:54.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th November 2006, 19:45
wrender wrender is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Dns

Till,

I don't think this is an issue. When I changed the path that ISPconfig stores the zone files to /var/lib/named, i noticed that it wrote the pri.* files into that directory within 5 minutes.....

I did just change my otherdatanetworks.com name servers to 1and1's name servers.... I think this is what they should be? so....

otherdatanetworks.com
using 1and1 name servers
subdomain ns1.otherdatanetworks.com points to ispconfig server 1
subdomain ns2.otherdatanetworks.com points to ispconfig server 2

otherdata.com (this is the actual domain I use)
using both otherdatanetworks.com name servers. ns1.otherdatanetworks.com and ns2.otherdatanetworks.com

On the ispconfig server 1, i have the dns master zone for otherdata.com

Wes
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th November 2006, 00:18
wrender wrender is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Fixed

FIXED!

It ended up being because I had set my otherdatanetworks.com to use it's own name servers. When I set them to 1and1's I just had to wait about 6 hours for it to propogate accross the mega global hypernet.

Wes
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DNS Issue Renegade Server Operation 7 19th February 2009 14:15
DNS Configuration Problems VMartins Installation/Configuration 10 24th July 2007 14:40
Pri & Slave DNS HOWTO (FC4) ppettigrew Suggest HOWTO 0 1st April 2006 15:35
DNS issue? nms Installation/Configuration 1 18th February 2006 11:59
DNS issue and user's alias problem rosa hsiao General 3 2nd November 2005 10:03


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.