Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.

Old 22nd November 2006, 00:45

Default VMWare Server for Ubuntu Edgy Eft - Problems

I'm a linux newbie - running Ubuntu Edgy Eft on a Dell C800 Laptop - it works fine.

I'd very much like to install Windows XP on that machine in a VMWare server, but am having difficulties (I had no problem getting Ubuntu running under VMware server on another XP machine).

I tried to follow the procedures in the post:
http://www.howtoforge.com/ubuntu_vmware_server
but ran into problems. I followed the main post down to step 2 where it wanted me to:

apt-get install gcc binutils-doc cpp-doc make manpages-dev autoconf automake1.9 libtool flex bison gdb gcc-doc gcc-4.0-doc libc6-dev-amd64 lib64gcc1

When I saw that I stopped because I don't have a 64-bit processor and feared that I'd be fouling things up.

I then looked down the page and saw the apparently simpler procedure of downloading the rpm and converting it via Alien.
I did that and all seemed to go well

I ran vmware-config.pl with some errors (below) and found that VMWare Server Console was installed in Applications|System Tools. When I attempted to run it, nothing happened.

I reran vmware-config.pl and copied the errors I found (below).

Can someone help me figure out what to do. I can see either:

1) fixing whatever I didn't do on this install OR
2) Starting from scratch again, with the right references in that complex line above - what would they be.

Thanks for whatever help you can give.

Jim Mitchell

********** Excerpted Errors
In which directory do you want to install the application's icon?
[/usr/share/pixmaps]