Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th November 2006, 23:06
OdinsChrist OdinsChrist is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post Same host 'www' at (n) domain at the same ip doesn't work

Maybe I've got a similar problem with bind9. Sorry, that I'm asking for that but I don't find an answer which fits my probs.

I'm new to dns with Linux. Resp. I've got not much experience with it.

Configuration:
Code:
Unbuntu 6.06 Intranet Server
ISPConfig 2.7.7

Hostname: odin
Domainname: intranet.svc
eth0:192.168.2.12
eth0:0:192.168.2.13
After installation I'm logged in by https://192.168.2.12:81/. Works.

I'd created a DNS Master Entry for the IP 192.168.2.12 which listens for intranet.svc. Works.

Then I'd created a web.
www.intranet.home at IP 192.168.2.13. Works after reboot of the server... Why? Maybe the refresh needs more time I'll spend to wait for it. Nevertheless:

Then I'd created a second web.
www.typo3.home at IP 192.168.2.13. Doesn't work. Why?

I'd tried something. After a while I'd deleted the www A Record from typo3.home. NOW http://typo3.home works, but why? Maybe that bind don't like more than one A Record with the same name for the same IP. That's my mind. But how can i solve that Problem?

If I want to re-add the www A Record to the typo3.home domain an error occurs which means host is already in zone. It's to confusing for me. I read some summaries of official Bind9 docs. But I can't follow it.

For an accurate answer I'll thanks in advance.

Bye Chris

Sorry for my english... If you may help me for a better conversation please send me an IM with an error correction [for the german readers: 'Hauptschule 9. Klasse' ]

Last edited by OdinsChrist; 15th November 2006 at 01:56.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th November 2006, 10:14
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,045
Thanks: 841
Thanked 5,661 Times in 4,468 Posts
Default

Quote:
I'd tried something. After a while I'd deleted the www A Record from typo3.home. NOW http://typo3.home works, but why? Maybe that bind don't like more than one A Record with the same name for the same IP. That's my mind. But how can i solve that Problem?
You can have as many A-Records for the IP as you like. Please check your syslog or messages log for errors.

Also hav a look in the ISPConfig logfile /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/ispconfig.log
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
  #3  
Old 16th November 2006, 20:44
OdinsChrist OdinsChrist is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up Now it works. Problems with my 2nd DNS.

Hi!

Now it works! There was no problem with bind.

My 2nd DNS (slave) didn't work correctly. It's a hardware router from avm... Strange and stessful!

Sorry for the big Mexican wave!

Bye Chriss

@Mod: - please close -

PS: And... Please mind to empty the recycle bins! It's very important!

Last edited by OdinsChrist; 16th November 2006 at 20:48.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System attack message from logcheck Hagforce Server Operation 6 30th August 2006 17:07
I broke it.. I think.. Email in is not being delivered? edge Server Operation 1 3rd July 2006 15:22
Perfect Setup Suse 10 can send but not receive mail Grizzly HOWTO-Related Questions 33 7th March 2006 00:14
Problem recieving mail webstergd Installation/Configuration 19 16th December 2005 13:08
webmail and pop3 quicklinux General 8 9th August 2005 01:15


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.