Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th October 2005, 16:44
Emarzee Emarzee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISP Server Setup - OpenSUSE 10 RC 1

hi im doing ISP Server Setup - OpenSUSE 10 RC 1
behind a router and im receiving a static ip from my company.

followed the tutorial verbatimbut for one part where i assigned my linux box a static ip in my router so the number is different. but it cant connect to the internet.

i used my internet assigned gateway subnetmask and DNS numbers
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11th October 2005, 17:04
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,717
Thanks: 820
Thanked 5,322 Times in 4,175 Posts
Default

Try to set the IP address of your router as gateway IP in your SuSe server.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th October 2005, 17:11
Emarzee Emarzee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
Try to set the IP address of your router as gateway IP in your SuSe server.
thats what i did the first time but it didnt work. will try again for the heck of it. one sec...

wheeeeee it worked!!
thanks alot!
stay tuned for part 2 :P


-edit-
i think it didnt work the first time because the first time i just made my dns numbers up
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th October 2005, 17:30
Emarzee Emarzee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok new problem

i logged into the server successfully and im trying to do the first step on page 4
but chkconfig is a bad command according to the console.
i'm a linux newb sorry. what do i do?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th October 2005, 17:36
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,717
Thanks: 820
Thanked 5,322 Times in 4,175 Posts
Default

Are you sure yu are logged in as root user? Run the command "su" command to switch to root.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th October 2005, 17:42
Emarzee Emarzee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

oh ok thanks alot buddy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Debian Server Setup dranieri HOWTO-Related Questions 3 18th January 2006 17:48
ISPConfig and separate machines pfm.smits Installation/Configuration 1 11th October 2005 15:09
Xandros Server Setup and Games neu2linux Suggest HOWTO 0 6th October 2005 15:22
Server can't "see" the internet Luciano Installation/Configuration 8 22nd August 2005 23:22
Maildir / Server Settings m u r Installation/Configuration 3 18th August 2005 10:53


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.