
11th November 2006, 20:06
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 210
Thanks: 37
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
|
TPS FC4, mail server abused to send spam?
Hello.
I used the exelent how to guide on your pages to setup a web/mail server.
The server is setup with an official IP adress, so no NAT or firewall protects it.
Just the firewall in ISPConfig (erverything is set up as in the tutorial).
I`m worried that my server is used as a "spam server".
I`ve been locking at the logs, but I`m not shore what to loock for etc.
Is there any way to see what messages are beeing sent out from my server, from witch adress, subject, reciever, IP adr etc.
I`would really like some help with this.
|

12th November 2006, 16:12
|
|
Super Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,665
Thanks: 1,896
Thanked 2,594 Times in 2,445 Posts
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Hagforce
Is there any way to see what messages are beeing sent out from my server, from witch adress, subject, reciever, IP adr etc.
|
It's all in your mail log. If you have lots of activity there that could be a sign of spam (unless your mail server is usually busy anyway). You can also check the mail queue:
If you see lots of mails there, this could also be a sign of spam abuse.
Then you can check of your server is blacklisted:
http://www.mxtoolbox.com/blacklists.aspx
Also make sure that your mynetworks setting allows unauthenticated sending only from localhost. What's the output of
Code:
postconf -d | grep mynetworks
and
Code:
postconf -n | grep mynetworks
?
|

12th November 2006, 21:13
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 210
Thanks: 37
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
|
Code:
[root@www ~]# postconf -n | grep mynetworks
mynetworks = 127.0.0.0/8
smtpd_recipient_restrictions = permit_sasl_authenticated,permit_mynetworks,reject_unauth_destination
Code:
[root@www ~]# postconf -d | grep mynetworks
mynetworks = 127.0.0.0/8 85.118.78.0/24
mynetworks_style = subnet
parent_domain_matches_subdomains = debug_peer_list,fast_flush_domains,mynetworks,permit_mx_backup_networks,qmqpd_authorized_clients,relay_domains,smtpd_access_maps
proxy_read_maps = $local_recipient_maps $mydestination $virtual_alias_maps $virtual_alias_domains $virtual_mailbox_maps $virtual_mailbox_domains $relay_recipient_maps $relay_domains $canonical_maps $sender_canonical_maps $recipient_canonical_maps $relocated_maps $transport_maps $mynetworks
smtpd_client_event_limit_exceptions = ${smtpd_client_connection_limit_exceptions:$mynetworks}
smtpd_recipient_restrictions = permit_mynetworks, reject_unauth_destination
My mail log is very large, but I got over 400 mail users on my server....
The postqueue -p also contains a lot of mails, and with adresses I do not use as vbhnuz@static47.bane-cust.com, static47.bane-cust.com is a dns for the IP on the server I think???
Is all the mails in the log actualy sent?.
I`m not blacklisted, but this does not lock good.
Last edited by Hagforce; 12th November 2006 at 21:16.
|

13th November 2006, 16:23
|
|
Super Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,665
Thanks: 1,896
Thanked 2,594 Times in 2,445 Posts
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Hagforce
Code:
[root@www ~]# postconf -n | grep mynetworks
mynetworks = 127.0.0.0/8
smtpd_recipient_restrictions = permit_sasl_authenticated,permit_mynetworks,reject_unauth_destination
|
This looks good.
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Hagforce
My mail log is very large, but I got over 400 mail users on my server....
The postqueue -p also contains a lot of mails, and with adresses I do not use as vbhnuz@static47.bane-cust.com, static47.bane-cust.com is a dns for the IP on the server I think???
|
What's your server's IP address? What's the output of
Code:
dig -x your_ip_address
?
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Hagforce
Is all the mails in the log actualy sent?.
|
This is recorded also in the mail log.
|

13th November 2006, 18:10
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 210
Thanks: 37
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
|
output of "dig -x your_ip_address"
Code:
;; ANSWER SECTION:
47.78.118.85.in-addr.arpa. 86400 IN PTR static47.bane-cust.com.
|

14th November 2006, 15:10
|
|
Super Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,665
Thanks: 1,896
Thanked 2,594 Times in 2,445 Posts
|
|
So static47.bane-cust.com is your server, and Postfix translates local domains to static47.bane-cust.com. that's why you see this domain in your mail log. That's the ususal behaviour, there's nothing wrong with it.
|
| Thread Tools |
|
|
| Display Modes |
Hybrid Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:23.
|
|
Recent comments
13 hours 1 min ago
18 hours 6 min ago
22 hours 30 min ago
1 day 19 min ago
1 day 14 hours ago
1 day 14 hours ago
1 day 19 hours ago
2 days 2 hours ago
2 days 3 hours ago
2 days 4 hours ago