#1  
Old 10th October 2005, 15:44
Paul Paul is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Moscow
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Paul
Default After setup...

I have install Sarge using instructions from http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_debian_sarge, everything was great! And when I try to edit file /etc/network/interfaces/, I've get the magic answer: Permission denied! When I try call other files, I haven't other answer. What's this problem? Root have full permissions default, but system say me "get out!" Why?
Serriously, how can I to continue my work?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th October 2005, 16:12
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,796
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,613 Times in 4,424 Posts
Default

Please try first the command "su" to go to root (and to make shure your really root).
Then use an editor like "vi" to edit the config file. It was reported taht some other editors (mostly KDE or Gnome GUI Editors) are giving permission denied errors on files even for the root user.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th October 2005, 17:17
hilton hilton is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You could also just use pico.

It's much easier than vi but die-hard vi-ers will most probably argue with me.

Cheers
Hilton
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th October 2005, 09:16
Paul Paul is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Moscow
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Paul
Default

Thanks, guys! I can do it using pico or nano. But I'm very yung linuxoid. Wait for more questions from me, OK?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th October 2005, 15:13
Paul Paul is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Moscow
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Paul
Default

If I use 2 network adaptors (eth0 for Internet, eth1 for LAN), should I type all IP-addresses etc. in file /etc/network/interfaces or create different files?

Last edited by Paul; 11th October 2005 at 15:17.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th October 2005, 15:57
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul
If I use 2 network adaptors (eth0 for Internet, eth1 for LAN), should I type all IP-addresses etc. in file /etc/network/interfaces or create different files?
No, it's still /etc/network/interfaces. You have sections in it for lo and eth0, so simply create a new section for eth1.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
step-by-step DNS Setup for ISPConfig!?! bolinux Installation/Configuration 3 31st May 2011 22:18
Fedora Core 4 - The Perfect Setup nandhu HOWTO-Related Questions 27 10th January 2006 13:23
Xandros Server Setup and Games neu2linux Suggest HOWTO 0 6th October 2005 16:22
Suse 9.3 setup probs with php5 hyperclock Tips/Tricks/Mods 0 21st September 2005 03:34
Which IP's to use for ISPConfig setup skeeta Installation/Configuration 3 4th September 2005 09:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.