#1  
Old 10th October 2005, 07:23
stlshawn stlshawn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: nerdville, missouri
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking Installing Frontpage Extensions

Gooooooooood evening everyone!

Just two small questions, that may be answered in the manuals (that i of course have not read yet).

I installed using the prefered setup, and the instructions here. I'll be registering a domain name tomorrow, and all will be well.

Since i have not gotten a domain yet, i know i cannot get subdomains yet, but when i do, can i just change the settings in ispconfig's management tab, or do i have to do lots of evil stuff to lots of files (should i re-install)?

And.....

After i get the domain thing straightened out, I need to install Frontpage extensions for some of the designers/maintainers of these oddball sites. Is there something i should worry about, or can i look up a generic "installing frontpage extensions on debian 3.1" sort of answer through some search engine (I don't google)?

There's a long history to this project, i won't bore you with, it has to do with an ISP/Computer store going out of biz, and some charity domains that needed a quick home, blah blah blah blah.

Thanks for any and all help.

Be Happy!
Shawn
__________________
Linux,,,, you mean them penguins, right (or could they be puffins)?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th October 2005, 10:33
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,022
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,655 Times in 4,464 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stlshawn
Gooooooooood evening everyone!

Just two small questions, that may be answered in the manuals (that i of course have not read yet).

I installed using the prefered setup, and the instructions here. I'll be registering a domain name tomorrow, and all will be well.

Since i have not gotten a domain yet, i know i cannot get subdomains yet, but when i do, can i just change the settings in ispconfig's management tab, or do i have to do lots of evil stuff to lots of files (should i re-install)?
You can create the websites for your Domain in ISPConfig. Thats the purpose of this software


Quote:
After i get the domain thing straightened out, I need to install Frontpage extensions for some of the designers/maintainers of these oddball sites. Is there something i should worry about, or can i look up a generic "installing frontpage extensions on debian 3.1" sort of answer through some search engine (I don't google)?

There's a long history to this project, i won't bore you with, it has to do with an ISP/Computer store going out of biz, and some charity domains that needed a quick home, blah blah blah blah.
You can use generic installations instructions that are e.g. provided by microsoft. But you have to install the Frontpage 2002 extensions, no other version will work with ISPConfig.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th October 2005, 13:39
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stlshawn
Since i have not gotten a domain yet, i know i cannot get subdomains yet, but when i do, can i just change the settings in ispconfig's management tab, or do i have to do lots of evil stuff to lots of files (should i re-install)?
If this refers to the URL where you can reach the ISPConfig web interface, then you only have to adjust the URL in /home/admispconfig/ispconfg/lib/config.inc.php.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th October 2005, 06:10
stlshawn stlshawn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: nerdville, missouri
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking Clarification

Sorry in my ramblings i hid the details,,,,,

Clarification one:

I have setup a server, but i have not registered a domain name yet for the IP. I read on another post, that i need to do this before going too far. When i do register a domain, can i just change it ISPConfig's software under "management - Server-Settings", or do i have to re-install and not skip the parts i needed to skip since i didn't put in www then stlshawn.com right near the end of the install? Right now, i access through the ip number plus :81.

And two:
Has anyone actually had Frontpage extensions 2002 load properly on a recommended install? I see lots of older posts on tricks to use to get it to work with debian sarge on the debian wiki, are they still needed? I intend within the next two or three days to try it straight out using ms's instructions.

Thanks for your responses, Lots for me to think about.
__________________
Linux,,,, you mean them penguins, right (or could they be puffins)?

Last edited by stlshawn; 11th October 2005 at 06:13. Reason: rambling again
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th October 2005, 09:44
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stlshawn
I have setup a server, but i have not registered a domain name yet for the IP. I read on another post, that i need to do this before going too far. When i do register a domain, can i just change it ISPConfig's software under "management - Server-Settings", or do i have to re-install and not skip the parts i needed to skip since i didn't put in www then stlshawn.com right near the end of the install? Right now, i access through the ip number plus :81.
No need to re-install, you can change the URL in /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/lib/config.inc.php.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th October 2005, 06:49
stlshawn stlshawn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: nerdville, missouri
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Cooooooooool

thanks so much for the advice.

Ya know, when i first thought about getting into linux, i heard about how elitist nixers were, now,, after playing with vector and getting help on their forums, and with the questions i have posted here, i see that it was a myth. The linux community seems to be just that, a community wanting to see people learn real computer skills, not just how to use a mouse and check boxes in a pretty environment.

thanks so much!
Shawn
__________________
Linux,,,, you mean them penguins, right (or could they be puffins)?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th October 2005, 13:58
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

I don't have FP Ext. enabled on my server. But I have had ALOT of attempted hacking logs conserning frontpage vunerablilities. I don't know whether the hacks actually works since they are old but I still get scanned.
__________________
Shuttle XPC | Intel 865g | P4 3.2Ghz | ATI 9800 Pro
Hosts: Ubuntu 6.10 ~ XGL-Beryl SVN-Gnome | OS X 10.4.8 | WindowsXP
Virtual Appliances: Ubuntu Server 6.10 | WindowsXP | CentOS 4.4
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Custom Kernel and Installing nVidia Drivers (Xandros) neu2linux Suggest HOWTO 0 6th October 2005 16:33
Problem installing ISPConfig, then with MySQL... ctroyp Installation/Configuration 7 26th September 2005 17:37
Getting problems when installing corn_planter Installation/Configuration 12 22nd August 2005 02:41
Installing software using wine floppywhopper Suggest HOWTO 0 17th May 2005 13:38
Installing Perl modules fernando Installation/Configuration 1 10th May 2005 21:16


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.