Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Suggest HOWTO

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd November 2006, 08:53
sysconfig sysconfig is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: (.)
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to sysconfig
Default renice - - set nice values of running processes

renice - - set nice values of running processes

Lets say you have started a process as root and you are updating something. You notice a HUGE slowdown in your system. You open a shell, and type "top" and notice that a process is using 94% of your CPU and hogging all the cpu time slowing everything else to a crawl!!! now what!!!!

Enter the command renice. Just as the manpages say, renice "set nice values of running processes". So, while running top, you notice the PID (process ID number) of the offending program/command is XXXXX (will actually be a number not x's).

As a root from shell:


Code:
root:~# renice 19 XXXXX
This will reset the nice value to a much lower (probably) nice value than it's currently running (top shows that as well).

Code:
root:~ # renice 19 22537
22537: old priority 0, new priority 19
The man pages give a pretty good description of all of this, plus they give several other specific examples on how renice can also be used.
__________________
Linux Web Administrator
Optimize, secure and performance tunning for Apache || MySQL5.1 Cluster How To
The visionary conceives the impossible, The missionary makes it possible. ...Gita.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 6th November 2006, 07:52
sysconfig sysconfig is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: (.)
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to sysconfig
Default

Quote:
can i renice when i'm not in root ? I have a problem with lam/mpi programs. mpi programs can't be run in root. But I want change nice value of those processes.
No I think you must be as root to renice process value

Thx
__________________
Linux Web Administrator
Optimize, secure and performance tunning for Apache || MySQL5.1 Cluster How To
The visionary conceives the impossible, The missionary makes it possible. ...Gita.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 4 TPS mail problem Hagforce HOWTO-Related Questions 13 10th February 2010 18:23
High Availability Samba cluster - DRBD + Heartbeat djalex Server Operation 58 25th May 2007 19:38
newbie ububtu 6.0.6 error PHP binary line 816 davidsky73 Installation/Configuration 8 17th September 2006 11:51
Empty Recycle Bin jon335 General 40 6th May 2006 11:56
Help....package missing sbovisjb1 Installation/Configuration 3 31st March 2006 11:14


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.