#1  
Old 1st November 2006, 11:45
asyadiqin asyadiqin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Exclamation DNS Not Resolving Domain Name

Hi all,

I have a freshly installed ISPConfig (installed using the howto for Fedora Core 5) and everything seems to be working fine.

Recently, I installed a site andon this site there is an email form that sends out email enquiries to my clients email accounts. Past week or so, I have been receiving complaints that some of my clients were not receiving anymore enquiries and they tested the form on the site and didn't receive the emails at all.

I've checked the maillog and found the following (domain have been changed) :

Quote:
Nov 1 09:42:53 fc5-g3 postfix/smtp[12597]: B96334080B8: to=<info@myclientdomain.com>, relay=none, delay=7705, status=deferred (Host or domain name not found. Name service error for name=myclientdomain.com type=MX: Host not found, try again)
I did nslookup and dig on the domain to find out more

Quote:
# nslookup -q=any myclientdomain.com
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached
Any other queries on other domains gets a response as normal but not this and a few other domains.

Initially I assumed that it was a wrongly configured domain and nothing to do with my server's DNS. However, when I used an online nslookup site, there seem to be no problem. Even doing a lookup on my local Windows machine gives me a response.

Any idea what is going on with this?

Thanks.


I have not done anything apart than what
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st November 2006, 12:12
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,383
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,485 Times in 4,317 Posts
Default

Please post the content of the file:

/etc/resolv.conf
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st November 2006, 14:09
asyadiqin asyadiqin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Below is the content of /etc/resolv

Quote:
search iknow-uk.com
nameserver 89.107.17.142
nameserver 89.107.17.145
nameserver 127.0.0.1
The server is on 142 while 145 is another server running DNS and MySQL.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd November 2006, 09:16
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,383
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,485 Times in 4,317 Posts
Default

Please try to set one of your nameservers to a external server e.g. from your cable or server housing provider.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd November 2006, 11:46
asyadiqin asyadiqin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
Please try to set one of your nameservers to a external server e.g. from your cable or server housing provider.
This is what I get from the existing /etc/resolv.conf

Quote:
[asyadiqin@fc5-g3 ~]# nslookup
> server
Default server: 89.107.17.135
Address: 89.107.17.135#53
Default server: 89.107.17.145
Address: 89.107.17.145#53

> highfoldbedandbreakfast.co.uk
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached
Next, I changed the /etc/resolv.conf to use external nameservers and this is the result

Quote:
[asyadiqin@fc5-g3 ~]# nslookup
> server
Default server: 69.59.17.21
Address: 69.59.17.21#53
Default server: 69.59.17.22
Address: 69.59.17.22#53

> highfoldbedandbreakfast.co.uk
Server: 69.59.17.21
Address: 69.59.17.21#53


Non-authoritative answer:
Name: highfoldbedandbreakfast.co.uk
Address: 67.15.97.220
Does this prove that something is wrong with my DNS servers? How can I rectify this?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd November 2006, 14:24
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asyadiqin
Does this prove that something is wrong with my DNS servers?
Yes. Please make sure they are running. What's the output of
Code:
netstat -tap
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DNS Configuration Problems VMartins Installation/Configuration 10 24th July 2007 14:40
Unsure of DNS, hosts, and domain name plethera21 Installation/Configuration 1 4th September 2006 11:01
Domain & DNS setups kingkunt Server Operation 3 15th May 2006 16:27
Cannot add domain to DNS because it exists, but it's not in the list. benbalbo Installation/Configuration 4 2nd December 2005 07:07
Adding sub domain to secondary dns jernis Installation/Configuration 3 22nd September 2005 18:03


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.