Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd October 2005, 12:35
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default Replicate ISPConfig

Hi guys.. just a thought I had... lets say I have my ISPConfig server running and then decide to put another ISPConfig server in place that will replace the old one, is there anyway to copy all the data from one ISPConfig server to another.

i.e. I start hosting for many customers and then out grow the current server how do I move everything to a new one.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 3rd October 2005, 13:25
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

The most simple solution would be to use SystemImager. You simply create an image of your hard disk and copy it to your new server.

I've written 2 howtos about this:
http://www.howtoforge.com/howto_linux_systemimager
http://www.howtoforge.com/dedicated_...e_systemimager
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd October 2005, 21:58
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

Ok that could work but how will suse9.3 react to different hard drives with more space and the different hardware, like going from a pentium III system to a 64bit AMD chip ect.....

My experience of this has not been good, last week all I wanted to do was put in a new graphics card and I ended up re-installing the whole system because no matter what I did the display would not work.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd October 2005, 22:15
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mphayesuk
Ok that could work but how will suse9.3 react to different hard drives with more space and the different hardware, like going from a pentium III system to a 64bit AMD chip ect.....
That depends on what drivers your kernel has compiled in. If you're not going to use exotic hardware there shouldn't be problems, and I've never encountered problems with different hard disks. But I wouldn't change the processor architecture, e.g. from 32bit to 64 bit!
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th October 2005, 11:26
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

So what your saying is that there is no way to copy over the data from one server with ISPConfig on to another server if I go from 32bit to 64bit.

So if that is the case I would have to migrate the data over manually and create new user profiles which will reset all user passwords.

What I am going to do is give this hosting a go with the servers I have available and if I get enough interest I will buy new hardware and put more resources into it, but if I cant copy over the data I will have to put some thought behind how I can put the accounts over ect... manually.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th October 2005, 17:24
LAMPpost LAMPpost is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'd love to be able to do this. I've just finished setting up an old Dell PowerEdge dual PII-266 with SCSI everything, with sarge, from Falko's excellent how to. Just finished installing ispconfig, so it's nice and clean. Just in the process of getting the mysql databases over to the Dell.

The old server is an uniprocessor IDE desktop, which is about to die. I really need to move my full ISPConfig, web and email fileset over. When the database is backed up, how can that backup be used to restore things? Surely that is the way to do it?

If it's a case of copying over the various files / folders, which need to be carried over? Not too worried about ssl certificates, but user mail accounts and thanks to having several php projects in development, the web folder structure in /home/, too. I'll change my coding practices after this, but for now I have enough on my plate.

This would be so helpful that I can't even begin to explain.

Best regards,

Craig

Last edited by LAMPpost; 12th October 2005 at 17:39.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HowTo start developing ISPConfig till Developers' Forum 18 25th April 2014 20:43
ISPconfig 2.0.9 fails on openSuse 10 rc1 AlexCunha Installation/Configuration 3 27th September 2005 04:23
Can't access ISPConfig by http://...:81 driftguy Installation/Configuration 7 14th September 2005 14:47
ISPConfig 2.0.8 released till General 6 29th August 2005 10:43
Changing values on ISPConfig installation Luciano Installation/Configuration 4 16th August 2005 23:32


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.