#1  
Old 19th September 2006, 11:36
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,262
Thanks: 78
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default question about software raid

hi there,


I followed a slightly different how to for setting up a root server at strato than this: http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_se...n_sarge_strato

but it is basically unimportant for my question.

What do I do in case one of the harddisks of my software raid fails? How do I recover? what do I have to do?

I guess the server support staff will exchange the hard disk with another one of the same size and brand so what is the next step I have to do?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19th September 2006, 12:07
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

I never used SW Raid, I preder HW RAid even with cheap controllers without an own CPU because of the ease of use in the OS...
but here you can find two shellscripts that manage this harddisk replacement in the sw raid: http://www.sysop-forum.de/thread.php...=software+raid
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th September 2006, 12:24
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,262
Thanks: 78
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default

thx, its not about what I prefer but about what I can afford :-)

the system I could afford and that suits my needs best, offers 2 HDs so I used them to make a software raid...

I was just curious what I should do in case it fails...
seems the system will go on using only one HD, but how will mdam tell me that one HD failed? sending mail to root?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th September 2006, 12:50
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default

Hi,

On my Dell PowerEdge 1425 SC and Debian Sarge (unofficial 64 bit), i've software raid too.

I have configured RAID 1 using the Debian CD.
When one HDD crashes for example, i will receive an email from the system with the message that the RAID array is broken. So i can take action.

After that i can replace the crashed HDD for a new one.
Then Software RAID will rebuild & synchronise both HDD's.
Synchronising costs some time, but that is only after setting up RAID 1.

That's all.
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005

Last edited by Hans; 19th September 2006 at 13:00.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th September 2006, 14:28
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,262
Thanks: 78
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default

Ok, thx. thats exactly the info I was looking for: if I have raid1 set-up via software raid, I will be notified if a HD breaks down and when the HD is replaced it will automatically be rebuilt.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd September 2006, 10:43
ikaros ikaros is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I am not sure if the reconstruction is done automagically in software-raid. All I know is that after your replace the defective HDD, you have to do something like this (depending on what drive you have, e.g. sdx for SATA):

raidhotadd /dev/md0 /dev/sda

Take a look at this: http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/Software-R...O-8.html#ss8.1

Also, if you have partitions in your drive, maybe you should create them with fdisk before you run the above command.

If you need perfect Linux compatibility and good performance, after A LOT OF SEARCH I found out that if you are on a tight budget host-based SATA RAID controllers with Silicon Image 3114 chipset is the way to go, and if money is not an issue full-hardware controllers like LSI Logic MegaRAID SATA 150-4 (4 channels) or LSI Logic MegaRAID SATA 150-6 (6 channels) is the best option.



How do you setup the system to notify you with email in case of a drive failure?

Last edited by ikaros; 22nd September 2006 at 11:28.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need to install raid 1, on linux, which controller do u suggest? lyndros Installation/Configuration 5 5th August 2007 11:06
Yum or apt-get install question thim Installation/Configuration 3 20th September 2006 17:38
New install question conserning multiple disks... ctroyp Installation/Configuration 4 21st March 2006 18:51
SATA Software RAID 1 on Linux mphayesuk Installation/Configuration 2 21st February 2006 11:31
Suse 10 RAID 1 How To mphayesuk Installation/Configuration 2 11th February 2006 04:56


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.