Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th September 2006, 22:39
wvsailor wvsailor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ubuntu perfect install apache error ? and another ?

I finally settled on ubuntu 6.06 since it was the only packaget that I found would pretty seamlessly install on my AMD 64 box. Kudo's to the authors on ubuntu!

1. Now, I'm having a slight problem on my second box (server2.mydomain.com). At the end of step 13 we're told to restart apache with:

/etc/init.d/apache2 force-reload

Ok, it restarts but comes back with:

apache2: Could not determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.0.1 for ServerName
apache2: Could not determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.0.1 for ServerName

And yes, it does put that up twice.

2. As I said, I'm going to have two boxes (server1.mydomain.com & server2.mydomain.com). Is there anything "special" I have to do or just completely follow the "Perfect Setup" for each box? I remember reading somewhere that I have to make sure that the IP for the second box shows up somewhere in ISPConfig on the first box. Does this mean that I don't need ISPConfig on the second box?

Again, many many Thanks to Till and Falko for the wonderful How-to's and the prompt responses on everyone's questions. If I ever win the big-bucks on the Lotto I'll be sure to send ya'll some $$$!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th September 2006, 09:32
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,034
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,382 Times in 4,229 Posts
Default

1) Have you assigned a fully qualified domoan name. e.g. server1.yourdomain.com to the server that is correctly registered in DNS and points to your server IP?

2) Just follow the perfect setup for each of your servers.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.