Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th August 2006, 10:43
jerutley jerutley is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Setting up a DNS server to slave from ISPConfig

Hey all!

Almost 100% complete in my quest to convert from my old self-maintained hosting setup to using ISPConfig to drive it all. The only thing I have left is to make it so I can have my slave DNS server taking updates from ISPConfig.

The way I have things right now in my self-maintained setup is all my zone directives for bind are in a separate file included from named.conf. I also have a perl script which parses this file, switching those zones from a master config to a slave config, then copying the resulting file over to the slave DNS server via a key-based SCP command. A reload is then triggered on the slave so it pulls the new zone over from the master.

Has anyone ever set up something similar with the ISPConfig DNS structure? Maybe even so far as to tie it into the domain creation routines so it's done automatically? I haven't put ISPConfig into control over my DNS yet because of this issue, and it's the last thing I have to figure out

Thanks,

Jeremy
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th August 2006, 15:45
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Do you use BIND on your second server? Then yu simply have to add something like

Code:
zone "example.com" {
        type slave;
        file "sec.example.com";
        masters { 1.2.3.4; };
};
to your named.conf and restart BIND. Replace example.com with the real domain name and 1.2.3.4 with the IP address if your ISPConfig server. The BIND on the ISPConfig server will then do a zone transfer to your secondary DNS.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th October 2006, 22:21
VMartins VMartins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sao Paulo - Brasil
Posts: 70
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

falko,

The sec.example.com can be the same file of pri.example.com?

I wrote this in other thread (http://www.howtoforge.org/forums/sho...d.php?t=5004):

I have one IP. I use a service like No-IP to make my Secondary DNS Server. But now I have a friend with one IP too, and the same solution (No-IP).

I have to only put the allow-tranfer {ip} and nothing more? And the zones in the named.conf? And pri.xxx files?

Thanks all,

Vinicius
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st October 2006, 18:21
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VMartins
The sec.example.com can be the same file of pri.example.com?
The sec.example.com file will be created automatically, you don't have to do it.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th November 2006, 19:22
VMartins VMartins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sao Paulo - Brasil
Posts: 70
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I made my setup in this weekend... Is so simple...

Thanks again. Always you have a good answer... I read with attention the Tradiocional DNS How-To, I learn a lot of things... I should read this text before.

Vinicius
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
php Apps email not going through palkat General 8 21st September 2011 05:35
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 12:19
ISPConfig server also a MySQL replication slave jamesh Installation/Configuration 1 2nd August 2006 09:59
SP-Server Setup - Ubuntu 5.10 "Breezy Badger" - Page 6 (changes) LuisC-SM HOWTO-Related Questions 0 21st April 2006 15:16
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 02:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.