Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19th September 2005, 19:53
suy suy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Multiple domains & where to search

I have setup suse 9.3 following "The perfect setup for suse 9.3" from Falko.
Very nice!!! I only had to add zlib and zlib-develop.
I'm rather new to linux so...

Question: I also setup ISPCONFIG. After 4-5 reinstallations, it works...
1.I've put a website in the /web directory using an ftp program. But, I see there's also a user/web1_xxx/web directory? What's the purpose of it. How can I reach that???
2.During install I added also an additional ipadress (virtual). Why is it useful?

3. I want to setup more websites, on the same webserver. How? I tried to use "new site" in ispconfig, but I don't know where to look for the place (web) where I can put the php-files in (or html,...)

Thanks!!!!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19th September 2005, 20:16
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by suy
1.I've put a website in the /web directory using an ftp program. But, I see there's also a user/web1_xxx/web directory? What's the purpose of it. How can I reach that???
That's the web directory of each user that you create under "User & Email", the user can put personal pages into it. You can then access them in the browser by typing either www.example.com/~web1_xxx or www.example.com/user/web1_xxx

Quote:
Originally Posted by suy
2.During install I added also an additional ipadress (virtual). Why is it useful?
That's just an example on how to add additional IP addresses to one network interface. It's not necessary that you do it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by suy
3. I want to setup more websites, on the same webserver. How? I tried to use "new site" in ispconfig, but I don't know where to look for the place (web) where I can put the php-files in (or html,...)
That depends on which document root you specified during installation. E.g., if you specified /var/www, then the web sites will be under /var/www, e.g. /var/www/web1, /var/www/web2, ... The folder for http documents is then the web folder inside these directories.
If you create a user under "User & Email" and make him admin of the web site, you can use that user to upload files to the web folder by ftp.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th September 2005, 20:52
suy suy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

woow, that was quick!!!
well, I try that.. Thanks!!!

Maybe another question about DNS.

The perfect setup inlcudes a dns server too.

I have a little network (1 linux (client), 1 linux (the perfect setup), and a winxp machine...

In the winxp machine, for dns, I have "obtain dns servers from isp".

"Problem": my webserver (plus dns) will not always be running.
But if it's running (and that's when I want to work on the websites), I think it would be good that that dns server would be searched too.
Otherwise I have to add the ip adresses in my hosts file in windows... and since there's a dns installed....

any idea's?
Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th September 2005, 21:27
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by suy
woow, that was quick!!!
well, I try that.. Thanks!!!

Maybe another question about DNS.

The perfect setup inlcudes a dns server too.

I have a little network (1 linux (client), 1 linux (the perfect setup), and a winxp machine...

In the winxp machine, for dns, I have "obtain dns servers from isp".

"Problem": my webserver (plus dns) will not always be running.
But if it's running (and that's when I want to work on the websites), I think it would be good that that dns server would be searched too.
Otherwise I have to add the ip adresses in my hosts file in windows... and since there's a dns installed....

any idea's?
Thanks!!
On your Windows box, under network settings, you can set two DNS servers, a preferred one and an alternative one. As the preferred one you can set your Linux system, and as the alternative one you can set one of your ISP's DNS servers. If your Linux box isn't running, your Windows system will ask the alternative DNS server.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th September 2005, 22:14
suy suy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default thanks

Your previous solution worked !! (as expected )
for dns, I did what you said, but used the ip-address of the router (he gets the dns's from my isp) .. It works for now (maybe sort of caching?)...
Otherwise I have to set the ip-address of the dns server of my isp.
If it works this way, it would be better, since my isp changes "sometimes" the ip-adresses of the nameserver (rarely)

Thanks anyway....

Still have a lot of questions, but it'll do for now....
and I'll search first on this GREAT site for an answer....

Stefan
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sending mails to remote domains is not working. nandhu HOWTO-Related Questions 17 20th February 2006 20:27
WHere is the default domain's web page? Bedevere Installation/Configuration 4 28th August 2005 20:14
Apache not adding domains adamluz Server Operation 3 16th August 2005 20:20
Multiple domains jysse Installation/Configuration 2 10th August 2005 11:22
Multiple SSL sites on 1 server heat Server Operation 1 26th April 2005 13:05


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.