Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st January 2013, 03:52
tahunasky tahunasky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Buenos Aires
Posts: 84
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default DNS - subdomains not working !

Hi,
I am trying to get sub domains to work in ISPConfig.

The predefined mail. and www. work perfectly, however if i add cloud. as an A or CNAME record to my DNS entries it will work for a while - maybe be a day, or only an hour or 2 - then it stops working, and will only work again if i do something within the DNS settings - change, add, delete... but mail and www are not effected at all.. they work fine the whole time...

Here is the output/configs:

/var/named/pri.mydomain.com
Quote:
$TTL 3600
@ IN SOA ns1.mydomain.com. postmaster.mydomain.com. (
2012123102 ; serial, todays date + todays serial #
7200 ; refresh, seconds
540 ; retry, seconds
604800 ; expire, seconds
86400 ) ; minimum, seconds
;

mydomain.com. 3600 A 10.0.0.6
mydomain.com. 3600 MX 10 mail.mydomain.com.
mydomain.com. 3600 NS ns1.mydomain.com.
cloud 3600 A 10.0.0.6
mail 3600 A 10.0.0.6
ns1 86400 A 10.0.0.6
www 3600 A 10.0.0.6
dig output from the server:
Quote:
[root@kia ~]# dig cloud.mydomain.com

; <<>> DiG 9.8.2rc1-RedHat-9.8.2-0.10.rc1.el6_3.3 <<>> cloud.mydomain.com
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 34154
;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 1

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;cloud.mydomain.com. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
cloud.mydomain.com. 3600 IN A 10.0.0.6

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
mydomain.com. 3600 IN NS ns1.mydomain.com.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns1.mydomain.com. 86400 IN A 10.0.0.6

;; Query time: 0 msec
;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(127.0.0.1)
;; WHEN: Tue Jan 1 14:26:53 2013
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 95

[root@kia ~]#

[root@kia ~]# dig mail.mydomain.com

; <<>> DiG 9.8.2rc1-RedHat-9.8.2-0.10.rc1.el6_3.3 <<>> mail.mydomain.com
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 10065
;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 1

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;mail.mydomain.com. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
mail.mydomain.com. 3600 IN A 10.0.0.6

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
mydomain.com. 3600 IN NS ns1.mydomain.com.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns1.mydomain.com. 86400 IN A 10.0.0.6

;; Query time: 0 msec
;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(127.0.0.1)
;; WHEN: Tue Jan 1 14:27:14 2013
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 94

[root@kia ~]#
nslookup from windows PC:
Quote:
C:\Users\user1>nslookup cloud.mydomain.com
Server: UnKnown
Address: 10.0.0.6

Name: cloud.mydomain.com
Address: 10.0.0.6


C:\Users\user1>nslookup mail.mydomain.com
Server: UnKnown
Address: 10.0.0.6

Name: mail.mydomain.com
Address: 10.0.0.6


C:\Users\user1>
The problem happens with all 3 domains i have on the server.
I have had it working fine with dnsmasq on the previous server setup.
It makes no difference if i am using firefox or chrome.

If i edit the HOST file on the PC and add 10.0.0.6 cloud.mydomain.com it works fine, so its not a problem with apache.
If i do a DIG on the server it starts working - sometimes.

I am using CentOS 6.3 and ISPConfig 3.4.6.

Any ideas what is causing this and how to fix it ?

Last edited by tahunasky; 1st January 2013 at 05:11.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st January 2013, 15:44
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,651 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

The most likely reason is that your primary and secondary dns are not in sync. Test them both with the dig command to see if the secondary dns is in sync:

dig @ns2.mydomain.com cloud.mydomain.com
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd January 2013, 05:06
tahunasky tahunasky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Buenos Aires
Posts: 84
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

There is no secondary NS, as its only on an internal network at the moment for testing.

This is really annoying, as i havent touched the DNS records for 2 days now, but yesterday it all worked for a while (checked around midday), then lastnight and this morning i couldnt access cloud.mydomain.com again.

Then i play around with the DNS.. Just add a CNAME record, and its all working again.

But i dont understand why mail. and www. always work.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DNS not working with ISPconfig3 melkij22 Installation/Configuration 10 18th January 2013 23:56
Ubuntu DNS not working jinxster78 Installation/Configuration 1 3rd January 2009 17:58
DNS confusion and setting up subdomains on ISPConfig on Ubuntu 6.06 wctaelectronics Installation/Configuration 3 9th May 2008 01:25
Finally a working postfix server. But need a easy dns configuration mnewbegin Server Operation 5 17th October 2007 23:35
Dns question Mahir Installation/Configuration 48 14th November 2006 11:19


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.