Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th August 2006, 20:55
comedit comedit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Lost connection during install ISPconfig with server

I was installing ISPconfig after the perfect setup (debian sarge 3.1).

And somewhere during the beauty of the installscript (I was of to the loo), I have lost connection through putty.

I did put in the ssl part and passphrase, and somewehre after that i have lost the connection.

My question is what to do ?

I can't connect anymore. So do i just restart the machine and do a new install or do I first need to change/delete a few things before doing that.
Or is it something else i need to do.

I have done everything through winscp and putty and I am a noob when it comes to commandlines.

Thanks in advance for the help
Edit/Delete Message
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 5th August 2006, 17:35
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

What's the output of
Code:
iptables -L
,
Code:
netstat -tap
and
Code:
ifconfig
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th August 2006, 10:14
comedit comedit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default The results are:

This is the output:

iptables -L:

Chain INPUT (policy accept)
target prot opt source destination

And the the same for FORWARD and OUTPUT

Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination


netstat -tap:




Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address State PID/Program name
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdo:mysql *:* LISTEN 1769/mysqld
tcp 0 0 192.168.100.104:domain *:* LISTEN 6777/named
tcp 0 0 *:ftp *:* LISTEN 9613/proftpd: (acce
tcp 0 0 localhost.locald:domain *:* LISTEN 6777/named
tcp 0 0 *:smtp *:* LISTEN 8414/master
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdoma:953 *:* LISTEN 6777/named
tcp6 0 0 *:imaps *:* LISTEN 8308/couriertcpd
tcp6 0 0 *op3s *:* LISTEN 8225/couriertcpd
tcp6 0 0 *op3 *:* LISTEN 8169/couriertcpd
tcp6 0 0 *:imap2 *:* LISTEN 8260/couriertcpd
tcp6 0 0 *:www *:* LISTEN 4911/apache2
tcp6 0 0 *:ssh *:* LISTEN 4965/sshd
tcp6 0 0 *:smtp *:* LISTEN 8414/master
tcp6 0 0 ip6-localhost:953 *:* LISTEN 6777/named
tcp6 0 0 *:https *:* LISTEN 4911/apache2
tcp6 0 0 ::ffff:192.168.100.:ssh aldibeast.lan:1350 ESTABLISHED9855/sshd: root@not
tcp6 0 148 ::ffff:192.168.100.:ssh aldibeast.lan:1351 ESTABLISHED9859/0

ifconfig:

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:01:02:F2:38:37
inet addr:192.168.100.104 Bcast:192.168.100.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::201:2ff:fef2:3837/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:157178 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:114731 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:158573872 (151.2 MiB) TX bytes:11389906 (10.8 MiB)
Interrupt:145 Base address:0x1000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:79 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:79 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:5821 (5.6 KiB) TX bytes:5821 (5.6 KiB)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th August 2006, 13:02
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Hm, looks ok. And now you can't connect to 192.168.100.104 with PuTTY on port 22?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th August 2006, 13:16
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Is this output after restarting the machine or directyl from console (if you have the possibility to access the machine directly).

Can you take a look in /var/log/message by the time of the connection broke, if there were any packets on port 22 logged?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 7th August 2006, 13:17
comedit comedit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default I can connect to the machine

I can connect now, to the server at 192.168.100.104;

But I am under the assumption that the script somewhere is hanging and waiting for input (mysqlserver and password etc). So I can't get back in that session.

The script probably got to the stage where it needs my input. But that never was on my screen (since I lost connection).

I can reconnect to the machine but do not know how to finalise the script since i am not in that installsession anymore if I reconnect.

By the way the actual static Ip should be 192.168.100.30 (static IP I set) but
it has now a IP assigned by DHCP. I don't understand how this happend but its the situation for the moment

Thanks for your input
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 7th August 2006, 13:20
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

That looks like sth. / sb. changed your networksettings to dhcp at first.

Why don't you just remove the ispconfig stuff, run screen and reinstall in screen. So if your ssh session brakes you can restart and fetch the screen session
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
php Apps email not going through palkat General 8 21st September 2011 05:35
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 12:19
lost connection with server during install comedit Installation/Configuration 0 4th August 2006 20:22
Email - Ueb-Miau mazhar Installation/Configuration 5 21st December 2005 10:01
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 02:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.