Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16th December 2012, 10:19
ITG ITG is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default SSL / Sub-domain issue

Curious question.

I have my ispconfig 3.0.4.6 running under centos 6.3.. everything is working fine so far.. i noticed something tonight.

When i go to https://example.com the correct ssl certificate loads (using sni support with the latest version of chrome).. When i go to https://www.example.com it shows up the wrong domain on the certificate. shows the domain for the panel/server hostname itself.

Now for DNS, i have a CNAME for www.example.com to point to example.com ...

I have tried the auto-subdomain as "None" and "www." ... either way, it doesn't seem to be correct...

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17th December 2012, 14:57
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,748 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

Does the example.com vhost list both example.com and www.example.com?

Did you select a specific IP address for the website in ISPConfig, or did you choose *?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th December 2012, 15:46
ITG ITG is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Alabama
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

So I guess I didn't come back and post my own reply eh?

Falko, thanks for the response! I edited my /etc/httpd.conf and changed the servername to www.itgwebhosting.com which apparently caused issues.. so i changed it to my ip address instead. Once i did that, everything worked fine (after an apache restart).

To answer your question though, both are in the vhost file and yes i use * for the ip.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th December 2012, 17:25
almere almere is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Netherlands, Rotterdam
Posts: 231
Thanks: 20
Thanked 39 Times in 34 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to almere
Default

What type of SSL certificate do you have?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue configuring an SSL domain with current certificate jbd123 Installation/Configuration 1 9th July 2012 11:34
Setting up a SSL Domain JESUSSAVES General 2 10th April 2012 16:50
haproxy with stunnel problem abubin Server Operation 6 10th April 2012 16:08
SSL Issue - Unable to connect to any site Menzor Installation/Configuration 4 27th May 2007 05:03
ISP Services wouldn't restart any service, possibly Domain Host configuration issue. Kamran Shah Installation/Configuration 20 17th August 2006 18:33


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.