Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28th October 2012, 21:09
anv anv is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ispconfig 3 in a small lan (localhost) only two pc

I have two pc, both are connect at one router/modem (192.168.1.1)

pc 1 is a server (ubuntu 12.04 + ispconfig 3)

pc2 is a desktop pc (with win xp)

pc1
in /etc/hosts I have
127.0.0.1 localhost
192.168.1.100 hostub

in /etc/network/interfaces
# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.1.100
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.1.0
broadcast 192.168.1.255
gateway 192.168.1.1
dns-nameservers 127.0.0.1 8.8.8.8 8.8.4.4

from pc2 for connect at ispconfg I use
https://192.168.1.100:8080

see that I use the server only for test and not must be visible externally,
how can create sites with ispconfig and what write in the url of the 2nd pc
for to see the sites?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 29th October 2012, 09:50
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

You can use "fake" domain names for your sites like a domain ending .int for internal so you create sites with names like mywebsite.int in ispconfig. Then edit the hosts file on your windows xp computer (a file wh that name exists on all major operating systems like all windows versions, mac os and linux and add records like:

192.168.1.100 mywebsite.int

in that file. You can access the sites then from your xp desktop by entering mydomain.int in the browser url field.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th October 2012, 17:07
anv anv is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

<quote>You can access the sites then from your xp desktop by entering mydomain.int in the browser url field. </quote>
you want said mywebsite.int ?

I does so, in the xp's file hosts, add
192.168.1.100 site.int

and can see the site if write site.int; I not add nothing in the ispconfig site because this is the default server's domain name setting (etc/hostname)


but if I add a site with ispconfig, example site1.int, for to see I must
add in the xp's hosts file also this site ?
192.168.1.100 site1.int

so work
so for every site that I add with ispconfig I must change the file hosts under xp? or is there a tips?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st November 2012, 09:11
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anv View Post
so for every site that I add with ispconfig I must change the file hosts under xp? or is there a tips?
Yes, unless you set up a local DNS server and configure your client PCs to use this DNS server as the primary one.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd November 2012, 12:34
anv anv is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

in my pc win xp in the file host now I have
127.0.0.1 localhost
192.168.1.100 site.int

when I write in the url site.int ok I see the site of 2nd pc (server)

if I create 2 subsites example:
x1.site.int
x2.site.int
which is the solution for not add
192.168.1.100 x1.site.int
192.168.1.100 x2.site.int
in the pc client?

is always this or can do all directly with ispconfig?
<QUOTE> Yes, unless you set up a local DNS server and configure your client PCs to use this DNS server as the primary one.
</QUOTE>

and exactly how can create a local dns and after configure my client pcs
for to use?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig 3.0.3.3 fresh instalation - email tab is empty artur_gib Installation/Configuration 14 28th January 2014 20:02
ISPConfig 3 - MultiServer Setup - With Dedicated Control Panel - How? SuperJC Installation/Configuration 4 16th October 2012 21:03
maildrop : user unknown. Command output: Invalid user specified. mfrna Server Operation 4 20th May 2010 10:50
Loads of mysql connections to dbispconfig StrikerNL General 2 5th March 2009 15:31
Postfix not playing nicely with pop3 or pop3s ru4r34l Server Operation 4 28th October 2006 19:55


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.