Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28th August 2012, 14:19
bruno_floyd bruno_floyd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 73
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Function Update OS not working

Hi everybody,

After a while I'm coming back here to clarify another doubt of mine.

I'm running ISPConfig3 Version 3.0.4.6 Multiserver setup on 7 Debian 6.0 servers (VM's), and trying to use the function update OS.

I read that the update perform an "aptitude -y upgrade", and here I'm used to use "apt-get -y upgrade", I know it doesn't have any difference but I changed on the ISPconfig scripts the lines where it was written aptitude for apt-get.

After changing that I went to the update OS function and selected All servers to do it. But only the master server and a database server were updated, and the others remains not updated.

Does anyone has ever used that function with success?
Am I missing some previous config to use it?

Thanks guys! ;D
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 28th August 2012, 14:26
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,457
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,230 Times in 4,099 Posts
Default

Quote:
I read that the update perform an "aptitude -y upgrade", and here I'm used to use "apt-get -y upgrade", I know it doesn't have any difference but I changed on the ISPconfig scripts the lines where it was written aptitude for apt-get.
It does the same, so no need to change anything in the code.

Quote:
Does anyone has ever used that function with success?
Yes, works fine on my servers.

If you want to debug server actions on your slave servers, check out the debug instructions in the faq.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th August 2012, 14:54
bruno_floyd bruno_floyd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 73
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
It does the same, so no need to change anything in the code.



Yes, works fine on my servers.

If you want to debug server actions on your slave servers, check out the debug instructions in the faq.

Thanks for the reply till!

I followed the FAQ instructions and I did the following:
I ran the update function on the interface, disabled the cron, and ran the command, which gave me:

sh: repquota: not found
sh: repquota: not found
/usr/bin/fail2ban-client
/sbin/iptables
/sbin/ip6tables
finished.

Is there any relationship with the updates?

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th August 2012, 14:57
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,457
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,230 Times in 4,099 Posts
Default

No, thats not related to the updates.

Did you disable the cronjob first, then clicked on the update in ispconfig again before you run the script? If you presed the update button first and then disabled cron, the output can be incorrect.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th August 2012, 15:06
bruno_floyd bruno_floyd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 73
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
No, thats not related to the updates.

Did you disable the cronjob first, then clicked on the update in ispconfig again before you run the script? If you presed the update button first and then disabled cron, the output can be incorrect.
That's correct till... I did that way.
First disabled and then ran the update.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th August 2012, 15:21
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,457
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,230 Times in 4,099 Posts
Default

Ok. Other changes get transferred correctly to that server? E.g. when you modify a website, dns record or mailbox depending on what the server is used for?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
error.log is full of notices mod_fcgid 007007 Installation/Configuration 13 8th September 2012 11:29
ISPConfig3 Debian Squeeze Crontab - Log petrichbg Installation/Configuration 5 22nd March 2011 12:25
auto update svn working copy donix Installation/Configuration 0 9th June 2010 20:59
The system is currently updating the configuration files. warlock General 8 21st February 2009 18:15
High Availability Samba cluster - DRBD + Heartbeat djalex Server Operation 58 25th May 2007 19:38


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.