Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st January 2012, 19:43
misterm misterm is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 533
Thanks: 18
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Question Ubuntu OpenVz Compile

Hello, does this "howto" that the master Falko to create works perfectly with ISPConfig 3 in VPS?

http://www.howtoforge.com/installing...n-ubuntu-10.04

When I say master Falko, it's not a joke ...
good evening
MM
__________________
ISPConfig, the panel fantastic , http://www.ispconfig.be/forums/
http://www.ispconfig.be/
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 22nd January 2012, 15:23
falko falko is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

You cannot install OpenVZ inside a VPS, you must install it on a physical server.

This link might be of interest: http://www.howtoforge.com/installing...g-3-debian-6.0
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd January 2012, 20:48
misterm misterm is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 533
Thanks: 18
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Hello Falko, I have found is I thank you for that answer.

It can run ISPConfig 3 (To create sites, emails, ftp, etc ...) is Manager of VPS servers (VM) on the same machine, or it is very dangerous?

I speak of a dedicated server with a config like i5 or i7 with 16 GB or 24 GB of memory, 2 TB HD?

Falko meets me frankly, it's important to me or if I change or configuration ....

cordially

MM
__________________
ISPConfig, the panel fantastic , http://www.ispconfig.be/forums/
http://www.ispconfig.be/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd January 2012, 11:16
falko falko is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

You can run email, web, etc. on the OpenVZ host, but I wouldn't recommend it. I'd put this inside a VM, this has the advantage that you can create backups of the whole VM (see the vzdump command) and move a VM to another server. If you install everything on the host system, you have to install everything again when you buy a new server.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd January 2012, 12:11
misterm misterm is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 533
Thanks: 18
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Hello
I just run a test on my server with ISPConfig 3 / OpenVZ (see howto above)

http://www.howtoforge.com/installing...g-3-debian-6.0

Is when I create a vm, I is not in the directory "/ vz / private", even by this command if:

Quote:
vzctl start 101
Starting container ...
Container private area /vz/private/101 does not exist
Or is the error?
cordially

MM

Edit message :

When I create it manually, it shows this as error:

Quote:
vzctl create 101 --ostemplate ubuntu-10.04-minimal_10.04_amd64
Creating container private area (ubuntu-10.04-minimal_10.04_amd64)
Warning: Temp dir /vz/private/101.tmp already exists, deleting
vzquota : (error) Quota on syscall for id 101: File exists
vzquota on failed [3]
vzquota : (error) Quota is not running for id 101
vzquota : (error) Quota is not running for id 101
Creation of container private area failed
He speaks of "Quota IS NOT running", my management "quota" is there to work, look at my file "fstab":

Quote:
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
/dev/sda1 / ext3 errors=remount-ro,usrjquota=aquota.user,grpjquota=aquota.group,jq fmt=vfsv0 0 1
/dev/sda2 swap swap defaults 0 0
Strange as error, is not it?

Thank you for your help

MM

Enable quota in fstab, because it is missing from the howto from falko

http://www.howtoforge.com/installing...g-3-debian-6.0

is disabled in the config file "/ etc / vz / vz.conf"

....
DISK_QUOTA = no
....

MM
__________________
ISPConfig, the panel fantastic , http://www.ispconfig.be/forums/
http://www.ispconfig.be/

Last edited by misterm; 23rd January 2012 at 12:49.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to misterm For This Useful Post:
Erih-Gres (8th March 2013)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem send/receive Courier+Postfix+Squirrelmail Pirk Installation/Configuration 2 21st May 2010 13:26
Connection timed out on intermail outgoing mails gouravgarg Server Operation 6 5th March 2010 20:31
Unbale to login to Postfix from webmail wasimriz HOWTO-Related Questions 5 6th April 2009 13:49
Problem on restart bind9 satimis Server Operation 6 30th October 2007 02:01
Log for Debugging jwan Installation/Configuration 5 27th October 2006 14:34


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.