Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st June 2011, 12:34
olieb olieb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cool ISPconfig3 and webalizer create confusion.

Following the Howto: http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...04-ispconfig-3 I set up my server as: server1.domain1.com. Created client1 with domain1.com. Created my website on it. No issues.
Then I created 2 more domains for client1.
Initially I could only access the first website with Filezilla over SFTP-SSH. After I changed the owners of web2 and web3 to web1:client1, I could also access these sites with the same username as defined for web1.
Code:
....
drwxr-x--x 8 web1 client1 4096 2011-06-19 00:30 web1
drwxr-x--x 7 web1 client1 4096 2011-06-20 14:35 web2
drwxr-x--x 7 web1 client1 4096 2011-06-20 14:35 web3
Now I am looking at the webalizer part of IspConfig:
Code:
root@server1:~# ls -l /var/log/ispconfig/httpd/
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root    4096 2011-06-21 08:56 domain1.com
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root    4096 2011-06-21 10:21 server1.domain1.com
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root    4096 2011-06-21 02:43 domain2.com
drwxr-xr-x 2 web1 client1 4096 2011-06-21 04:04 domain3.com
Looking to the contents of the individual domain webalizer.conf files, I get confused.
Domain1:
Code:
LogFile /var/log/apache2/access.log
#LogType	clf
OutputDir /var/www/webalizer
HistoryName /var/www/clients/client1/web1/web/stats/webalizer.hist
Incremental yes
IncrementalName /var/www/clients/client1/web1/web/stats/webalizer.current
ReportTitle Usage statistics for
HostName server1.domain1.com
Domain2:
Code:
LogFile /var/log/apache2/domain1.com/access.log
LogType	clf
OutputDir /var/www/webalizer
HistoryName /var/www/clients/client1/web2/web/stats/webalizer.hist
Incremental yes
IncrementalName /var/www/clients/client1/web2/web/stats/webalizer.current
ReportTitle Usage statistics for
HostName server1.domain1.com
for domain3:
Code:
LogFile /var/log/apache2/domain1.com/access.log
LogType	clf
OutputDir /var/www/webalizer
HistoryName /var/www/clients/client1/web3/web/stats/webalizer.hist
Incremental yes
IncrementalName /var/www/clients/client1/web3/web/stats/webalizer.current
ReportTitle Usage statistics for
HostName server1.domain1.com
As far as I can see these 3 run daily at 00.30 hrs, and output goes into /webx/web/stats

Sofar I have in /etc/webalizer 1 webalizer.conf file for domain1.
Code:
LogFile /var/log/apache2/domain1.com/access.log
LogType	clf
OutputDir /var/www/webalizer
HistoryName     webalizer.hist
Incremental     yes
IncrementalName webalizer.current
ReportTitle Usage statistics for
HostName server1.domain1.com
This is run through a cron job outside IspConfig on an hourly basis, while I optimize the report.

My questions:
1. Why did I have to set the server hostname to server1.domain1.com. Why not to just server1?
2. Why does domain3 have owners: web1:cllient1 and the others root:root. Should I change these manually and if yes to what?
3. What should I change in the webalizer.conf files for the 3 domains? They all have the same outputdir as my webalizer.conf file in /etc/webalizer. Domain 2 and 3 use the logfile from domain1 and domain1 uses the logfile from apache2.

Hope you understand why I am confused.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 21st June 2011, 13:29
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,504
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,265 Times in 4,129 Posts
Default

Quote:
Initially I could only access the first website with Filezilla over SFTP-SSH. After I changed the owners of web2 and web3 to web1:client1, I could also access these sites with the same username as defined for web1.
This was a bad idea as you broke the ispconfig system with that. Every website ahs its own user. You shoiuld undo that.

To your other questions:

1) Because every server that is connected to the internet needs a fully qualified hostname. Otherwise other servers can not lookup its hostname.

2) Most likely because you broke the system with your changes.

3) This is not a file from ispconfig nor used by ispconfig. ispconfig configures webalizer on the commandline and creates the stats for the domains based on the vhost logfiles. The /etc/webalizer file is most likely from your linux distribution and should be disabled.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st June 2011, 22:48
olieb olieb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I undid the changes I made.
With respect to point 3, I believe that is due to the Howto which I followed which installs webalizer.
Domain2 and domain3 I have to resinstall. Will do that tomorrow.

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
webalizer in ispconfig3 pinguinito General 12 4th October 2012 10:50
Webalizer & Awstats driving me mental sheshes Installation/Configuration 10 19th February 2011 21:46
Webalizer language in Debian Davide Installation/Configuration 1 20th November 2010 02:04
Webalizer stats only showing 1 or 2 days? TimeRider General 1 17th August 2009 13:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.