Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28th April 2011, 00:36
roadster roadster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Setting a Default Website when no Virtual Host for Domain

I need to reset the default site that is displayed when there is no site configured for a domain (i.e. no entry in the virtual hosts file) but the DNS settings (set on external nameserver) point to any of the ip addresses used on my server. Basically it's when a site is disabled for some reason and I'd like a suitable generic 'holding' page to display.

I don't see anything obvious in httpd.conf.

Thanks in anticipation.

Note to Mod: Sorry, this was first inadvertently posted in the Linux Forum - you may wish to remove from there - my apologies
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 2nd May 2011, 10:20
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,461
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,240 Times in 4,108 Posts
Default

Which ISPConfig version do you use?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd May 2011, 10:25
roadster roadster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

ISPConfig 2, Till
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd May 2011, 11:48
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,461
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,240 Times in 4,108 Posts
Default

ISPConfig 2 has a default vhost, ist the "Shared IP" page which is shown in case that no corresponding website exists. You can find it in /var/www/sharedip/
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th May 2011, 10:52
roadster roadster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Thanks, Till

Unfortunately this does not work for some reason on my setup. Any domain which is pointed in DNS to my server, resolves to one of the existing websites on the server when that new domain is not setup on the server as a vhost. ???

Thanks.

Roadster
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Email Could not send and receive piseth Installation/Configuration 16 17th July 2010 18:27
Some errors after using iRedMail to setup mail server DaaX HOWTO-Related Questions 1 21st January 2010 15:27
smtp is error!!! fhawk Installation/Configuration 2 7th April 2009 13:17
Help configure Postfix to use alt port 465 or 587 BoloMarkIII Installation/Configuration 10 16th March 2009 17:57
Virtual Users And Domains With Postfix, Courier And MySQL (+ SMTP-AUTH, Quota, SpamAs pontifex HOWTO-Related Questions 2 26th October 2005 17:54


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.