Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st February 2011, 18:31
talkingnews talkingnews is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 65
Thanks: 15
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Jobqueue randomly not processing

ISPconfig 3.0.3.2 on Ubuntu 10.10 64 on a vps.

Spent the weekend on a wild goose chase trying to track why changes made in the control panel weren't working.

Finally found today that some jobs happen after a minute, some take 5, 10, 20 minutes.

So, I manually ran

/usr/local/ispconfig/server/server.sh

Nothing.

Dug around inside and ran

/usr/bin/php -q /usr/local/ispconfig/server/server.php

and it updated the job queue. Made another change to test.
This time /usr/local/ispconfig/server/server.sh worked.

Next 10 times, both files, despite 2 jobs in the queue, nothing worked. 11th time, it worked.

This is all getting a bit confusing. I've seen mention of turning on debugging in /usr/local/ispconfig/server/lib/config.inc.php but I don't actually see what line that is.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th February 2011, 09:24
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,444
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,209 Times in 4,085 Posts
Default

Quote:
I've seen mention of turning on debugging in /usr/local/ispconfig/server/lib/config.inc.php but I don't actually see what line that is.
The info you read is for older ispconfig 3 versions only. In current ispconfig 3 releases, you turn on debugging under system > server config by setting the loglevel to debug.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
talkingnews (8th March 2011)
  #3  
Old 8th March 2011, 16:50
talkingnews talkingnews is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 65
Thanks: 15
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Ispconfig 3.0.32, Ubuntu 10.10 64 bit vps, 512Mb RAM

I had to give up with cron entirely when something happened so that when I made a change, when cron kicked in the next minute, I could watch the update process climb up the "top" table until it was using all the memory, and the server ground to a halt.

Commenting out the line

Code:
* * * * * /usr/local/ispconfig/server/server.sh > /dev/null 2>> /var/log/ispconfig/cron.log
in crontab allowed my server to live, and I was happily using

sh /usr/local/ispconfig/server/server.sh

to get things moving. Yes, I might have to do it 10-15 times in a row, but at least I knew it would happen.

Now all I get is:

Code:
08.03.2011-15:35 - DEBUG - Set Lock: /usr/local/ispconfig/server/temp/.ispconfig_lock
08.03.2011-15:35 - DEBUG - Found 3 changes, starting update process.
postqueue: warning: Mail system is down -- accessing queue directly
(It's always said that last line, as I don't have any mail services running. Hasn't been a problem before).

In cron.log, the last few lines are:

Code:
PHP Notice:  Undefined offset: 1 in /usr/local/ispconfig/server/cron_daily.php on line 95
Warning: Truncating oversized referrer field
Warning: Truncating oversized referrer field
PHP Warning:  Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /usr/local/ispconfig/server/cron_daily.php on line 216
PHP Warning:  Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /usr/local/ispconfig/server/cron_daily.php on line 330

However, this isn't much help as it doesn't have a timestamp.

All that's in the queue are a couple of site changes and a new mysql user and database.

Code:
2011-03-08 11:31	mydomain.com	Insert	web_database	
2011-03-05 10:15	mydomain.com	Update	web_domain	
2011-03-05 10:12	mydomain.com	Update	web_domain
How can I see what the commands are and what might be blocking it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th March 2011, 17:33
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,444
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,209 Times in 4,085 Posts
Default

Take a look into the ispconfig database with phpmyadmin, are there any records in the sys_remoteaction database table?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th March 2011, 17:50
talkingnews talkingnews is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 65
Thanks: 15
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Just one:

Code:
action_id	server_id	tstamp	action_type	action_param	action_state	response
4	        1	1295540461	os_update	 	ok
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th March 2011, 17:52
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,444
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,209 Times in 4,085 Posts
Default

please remove that record in the database and check if that fixes your problem.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
jobqueue

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yum issues el-sid Installation/Configuration 4 10th August 2011 11:01
setting up a media server centos 5.2 asphix20 HOWTO-Related Questions 2 9th December 2009 16:37
Courierr Errors were encountered while processing AsDsL General 1 30th November 2009 08:03
How to install OpenOficeOrg 3.0.0 in Ubuntu 8.04 ernesthagger HOWTO-Related Questions 43 23rd December 2008 14:42
Help....package missing sbovisjb1 Installation/Configuration 3 31st March 2006 11:14


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.