Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 9th January 2011, 01:12
dimas dimas is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 125
Thanks: 7
Thanked 27 Times in 8 Posts
Default A few questions on client's modules and limits

Please kindly answer two questions regarding ISPConfig 3 setup.

1. Is it possible to safely change the modules shown to clients? For example, I don't want to let some clients change (or even see, for that matter) the DNS settings. I know there's a System --> CP Users section where I can theoretically do this, but there's a warning about a possible data loss, and also the manual (which I downloaded by becoming a subscriber) says that this section is for admin users only.

2. I made an error of judgement when setting up the server - sadly I created all the clients' web sites etc while logged in as admin (obviously I should have done so by logging in as the clients themselves), and now I have a mess with limits and quotas, because the client's limits and quotas (that is, limits and quotas that were set by me when creating the clients) do not work for the entries created by admin. (I found this out too late - well, I was thinking that it was enough to just assign a web site etc to the client to make the limits work...)

So the question is - is it possible somehow to change the ownership of all these records from admin to the corresponding client? (Deleting and recreating the records is, sadly, not an option, because it's a production server, and there's 150+ sites there already).
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 9th January 2011, 14:21
Davide Davide is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 123
Thanks: 16
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dimas View Post
Please kindly answer two questions regarding ISPConfig 3 setup.

1. Is it possible to safely change the modules shown to clients? For example, I don't want to let some clients change (or even see, for that matter) the DNS settings. I know there's a System --> CP Users section where I can theoretically do this, but there's a warning about a possible data loss, and also the manual (which I downloaded by becoming a subscriber) says that this section is for admin users only.
AFAIK you can enable/disable modules from System --> CP Users, with no problem at all
The warning is about changing username/password/groups
Please, someone tell me if I'm wrong

Quote:
Originally Posted by dimas View Post
So the question is - is it possible somehow to change the ownership of all these records from admin to the corresponding client? (Deleting and recreating the records is, sadly, not an option, because it's a production server, and there's 150+ sites there already).
You don't have to change ownership. It's even better to create sites as admin, that way your users won't be able to change things.
Simply change site quotas as admin, that's all.

Client's quotas/limits is about the client capacity of creating/changing things. If you don't want your client to modify his site, you must create it as admin.

Of course, this is a problem if your client is a reseller. In this case, you must create reseller with *CUSTOM* template, and make all other changes login in ispconfig3 as reseller.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th January 2011, 14:37
dimas dimas is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 125
Thanks: 7
Thanked 27 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Thank you for your reply,

as for 1) - hopefully it's all right, but I'll also highly appreciate an answer from one of the developers of ISPConfig, because it's a production server I'm talking about, and I am a little bit nervous about making experiments.

as for 2) - in some cases I have a situation when, say, three sites belong to a client. I have allocated, say, 1 gb for all these sites totally. I want the client to be able to split this 1 gig of hdd space among his 3 sites. In the current setup (as explained in my first post) it's not possible because the client can't change each site's limits imposed by admin. So best of all for me is to allocate some total hdd space for CLIENT - and let him manage the rest.

That's why I'm wondering if it's possible to change ownership without recreating everything from scratch.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th January 2011, 18:24
Davide Davide is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 123
Thanks: 16
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dimas View Post
Thank you for your reply,

as for 2) - in some cases I have a situation when, say, three sites belong to a client. I have allocated, say, 1 gb for all these sites totally. I want the client to be able to split this 1 gig of hdd space among his 3 sites. In the current setup (as explained in my first post) it's not possible because the client can't change each site's limits imposed by admin. So best of all for me is to allocate some total hdd space for CLIENT - and let him manage the rest.

That's why I'm wondering if it's possible to change ownership without recreating everything from scratch.
You're right. I was thinking only on clients with only one site configured.

If I think of it, one never knows when a client will buy another site, and then your idea of changing permissions is really usefull (and necessary)

Does someone know if is it possible to change a site's ownership?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th January 2011, 14:15
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,804
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,613 Times in 4,424 Posts
Default

Quote:
Does someone know if is it possible to change a site's ownership?
Select the new client in the client select field of the site and click on save.

Quote:
as for 2) - in some cases I have a situation when, say, three sites belong to a client. I have allocated, say, 1 gb for all these sites totally. I want the client to be able to split this 1 gig of hdd space among his 3 sites. In the current setup (as explained in my first post) it's not possible because the client can't change each site's limits imposed by admin. So best of all for me is to allocate some total hdd space for CLIENT - and let him manage the rest.
A client is a virtual construct inside of ispconfig, it does not exist in Linux.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th January 2011, 16:34
Davide Davide is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 123
Thanks: 16
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Select the new client in the client select field of the site and click on save.
.
Till
Is this enogh to apply client's limits on site, or if you created it as admin client's limits won't apply?
I think this is what dimas is trying to ask

Also, is it safe to change a client modules from system->cp users->edit users?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.