Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th September 2010, 17:15
archange archange is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 29
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default DNS not working in ISPconfig3 cluster

Hi,

Thank you for having me on the Forums.
I am a Linux beginner, however, I have followed the "HowtoForge" guides with great interest and finally I decided to use ISPconfig3 for my hosting needs.

I installed ISPconfig3 on Centos 5.5 x64 using this guide: http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...ispconfig-3-p3

Additionally, I needed to start running my own DNS and I proceeded adding to ISPconfig3 two more servers, configured as slaves.

I have registered ns1, ns2 and ns3 with my registrar (not GoDaddy though), according to this guide:

http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy

After they have propagated, I added the DNS zones in the control panel. The next day, when issuing the following command I get:

Code:
# dig @ns1.arenahosting.org any arenahosting.org
; <<>> DiG 9.3.6-P1-RedHat-9.3.6-4.P1.el5_4.2 <<>> @ns1.arenahosting.org any arenahosting.org
; (1 server found)
;; global options:  printcmd
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached


I can see no errors in ISPconfig3 panel, nor at systems' innitialisation.

Can anyone please help me out?

Thank you for your patience, time and understanding.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 6th September 2010, 17:30
damir damir is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 375
Thanks: 11
Thanked 51 Times in 42 Posts
Default

What DNS software are you using and is it running? Do you have firewall, maybe port 53 is closed?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th September 2010, 17:41
archange archange is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 29
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Servers are running BIND9, chrooted. Firewall is disabled atm. I just restarted the named service and it appears to be running fine.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th September 2010, 18:46
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Please make sure that you configured BIND to start at boot time. The command is:

chkconfig --levels 235 named on
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th September 2010, 21:30
archange archange is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 29
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I remember doing that during the setup and the service is indeed running; I just rebooted the server once again - this is the bind status output:

Quote:
# service named status
number of zones: 0
debug level: 0
xfers running: 0
xfers deferred: 0
soa queries in progress: 0
query logging is OFF
recursive clients: 0/1000
tcp clients: 0/100
server is up and running
named (pid 2031) is running...
Is it just me, or does Bind not read the DNS configuration from ISPconfig?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th September 2010, 21:39
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

You should check that the configuration directory and named.conf file path of your bind installation match the bind config settings in ispconfig.

and if you want to test your local dns server, use this command:

dig @localhost arenahosting.org


Dont use @ns1.arenahosting.org as the nameserver domain then is a subdomain of the domain that you query, so you have to add glue records and a failure does not indicate if it is a problem with your dns server or if you have not setup the gluue records at the domain registry correctly.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.

Last edited by till; 6th September 2010 at 21:41.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
archange (7th September 2010)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSL on ISPconfig3 not working novaflash Developers' Forum 4 20th January 2009 23:38
Ubuntu DNS not working jinxster78 Installation/Configuration 1 3rd January 2009 17:58
DNS stop working MZH General 3 22nd February 2008 12:10
DNS Manager seems not working.. createch Installation/Configuration 2 29th August 2007 02:34
Dns question Mahir Installation/Configuration 48 14th November 2006 11:19


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.