#1  
Old 3rd September 2010, 15:30
nissy nissy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Still have problems with DNS

Hi people, hope you can help with this one!

I created a co-host x for my existing domain, I ticked so it would create the correspondent DNS record. If I go to the DNS section, I see the A entry, but if I dig/nslookup my server, it says no A entry was created.

Also, I have many problems with DNS server, when I dig/noslookup it only shows information on the root domain and NS, doesn't show all the A records, doesn't show any CNAME information, and also when I create new CNAME records using the web interface on ispconfig, it normally doesn't work.

I've tried both using co-host option and creating dns manually...

Any ideas?

Thanks

Nissy
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th September 2010, 12:33
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Is your ISPConfig server the authoritative nameserver for your domain? You can check that by running
Code:
dig ns yourdomain.com
Also, you can check your DNS settings on www.intodns.com
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th September 2010, 12:49
nissy nissy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, they are authorizative and in intodns.com everything shows ok...
If you dig or nslookup it also shows ok...

If you try to dig the subdomain x (x.domain.com) it says no record is found. If I go to the zone pri.domain.com the record is indeed created.

How can you make so that the changes made to a zone reflect into the cache zone? (I mean that pri.domain.com and pri.domain.com~ have the same entries).

For what I see, pri.domain.com~ is the one the system uses, right?

Thanks

Nissy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th September 2010, 18:03
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

No, pri.domain.com~ is just a backup of the zone file from before the latest changes. It is not being used by named.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th September 2010, 22:57
nissy nissy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for your reply, but that doesn't solve the fact that my server still doesn't answer to the records stated in the zone file...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th September 2010, 16:52
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Can you post your zone file and your named.conf?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DNS data from Standalone servers to Primary DNS server SamTzu Tips/Tricks/Mods 7 15th November 2009 13:38
Squid Proxy Caching on Linux obzerver Installation/Configuration 4 13th August 2008 19:51
Google Apps dayjahone General 19 29th March 2008 17:25
DNS Configuration Problems VMartins Installation/Configuration 10 24th July 2007 14:40
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 14:34


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.