Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th August 2010, 16:42
dpicella dpicella is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 116
Thanks: 9
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default Setting up reverse DNS on an ISPConfig 3 server

Hi,

I want to make sure I set up reverse DNS correctly for my domain/ip and DNS.

Since it is not correct now, I get warning messages and ultimately I am afraid that my server may be recjected or blackballed from email providers that perform reverse DNS lookups.

domain: jpre.net
ip: 208.76.252.130

When I open an ssh session, I get:
Quote:
reverse mapping checking getaddrinfo for 208.76.252.130-unallocated.colocationamerica.com [208.76.252.130] failed - POSSIBLE BREAK-IN ATTEMPT!
I am in control of my own DNS zones and records for my domains.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 13th August 2010, 16:44
dpicella dpicella is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 116
Thanks: 9
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

I think I need a PTR record but since I am new to DNS I am not sure if I add the PTR record to the jpre.net zone or if I create a new zone ???
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th August 2010, 20:58
pawan pawan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 222
Thanks: 44
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Setting up reverse DNS on an ISPConfig 3 server

I have had the same problem.

PTR record is controlled by your ISP and it cannot be controlled by your DNS records.

I got it changed from my ISP, which should resolve to my domain.

with my experience I am sure, there is no other way, than to request your internet service provider to make the necessary changes in your PTR record.

The same is only possible if you have a STATIC IP for your internet service.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th August 2010, 22:58
dpicella dpicella is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 116
Thanks: 9
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pawan View Post
PTR record is controlled by your ISP and it cannot be controlled by your DNS records.
I don't think so. I am in control of my own DNS zones and entries not the ISP. I Just don't have the experience to set up the PTR.

Forward DNS resolves to an IP from a domain name. Reverse DNS resolves to a domain name from an IP.

I am pretty sure I need to create an "in-addr.arpa" zone with the appropriate NS and PTR entries.

Anyone familiar with this?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th August 2010, 07:29
dpicella dpicella is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 116
Thanks: 9
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

pawan,

You I think you are right. dig -x my.ip.addr.ress

Suggests that the PTR/CNAME records are set up by the ISP who controls the class C block. I think I will ask them to add my nameservers to the reverse dns zone for my block of ips. I think that is how it works.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th April 2011, 21:35
u4david u4david is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 99
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default still need more light on ispconfig3 and rpt

I have my own DNS .Several domains on one ip , email server.
Static ip.ISPCONFIG3 (i love it)

How do i set up RTP so i do not get error lik ethis?
"Reverse DNS does not match SMTP Banner"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th October 2011, 00:26
ACDII ACDII is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 95
Thanks: 7
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I am in control of my PTR and need help. I am not sure how to set it up in ISPCOnfig3.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th October 2011, 11:36
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

It's described in the ISPConfig 3 Manual.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th October 2011, 23:00
u4david u4david is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 99
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Isp done it for me

I did contact my ISP and told them to set up rDNS.
I told them to point IP to my domain.

So I ques that wont help if you are of control of that your self.
But I wonder how come that you are in control of that?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 6th October 2011, 00:01
ACDII ACDII is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 95
Thanks: 7
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

We own the address space. We are a VOIP provider who also provides internet services. We aren't really an ISP since we dont offer web or mail services, but we can handle DNS if requested.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DNS issues when setting up ISPConfig 3 for Intranet use mick02 Installation/Configuration 10 11th February 2011 14:56
Debian 5 Ajax error + network interface always shutting down ev0css Installation/Configuration 3 5th June 2010 13:58
Sending mail ISPConfig 3 but not receivind catza Installation/Configuration 20 19th May 2010 13:47
ISPConfig3 Mail Warn Errors reason8 General 3 25th November 2009 14:58
The Perfect Setup - Debian Etch (Debian 4.0) some trouble daniel80 HOWTO-Related Questions 26 1st February 2008 17:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.