#1  
Old 19th June 2010, 19:54
Croydon Croydon is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 922
Thanks: 16
Thanked 259 Times in 206 Posts
Lightbulb Multiserver Database access

Hi folks

Scenario:
Multiserver setup, 1 database server, 1 webserver, 1 ispc mainhost with mailserver, dns and so on.
The webserver is not configured as a database server in ispc.
If a user creates a database now and disables remote access, will the ip of his assigned ispc web server(s) automatically added to the remote access ip list?
If not (and that's what I think it is like) he could not access the database from his web-scripts unless he enables remote access (with at least the web server's ip) himself, right?

So my question: Is this feature already on someone's to do list? Or maybe do you think it is not worth being integrated?
It would not be a small task I think as all web servers the client has websites on had to be taken into account at every database server the client has a database on. So privilegues would have to be updated on every database change and every website change.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19th June 2010, 22:20
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,792
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,337 Times in 4,187 Posts
Default

You can restrict the access to the database to the IP of the web server by entering the IP address of the webserver(s) that shall be able to access this database into the "Remote Access IP's" field.

For performance reasons, I recommend that you run the database locally on the same server then the websites. In that case, the sites can connect to mysql trogh a local server socket instaed of tcpip which is faster and need less resources.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th June 2010, 11:01
Croydon Croydon is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 922
Thanks: 16
Thanked 259 Times in 206 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
You can restrict the access to the database to the IP of the web server by entering the IP address of the webserver(s) that shall be able to access this database into the "Remote Access IP's" field.
Sure, I know. I implemented this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
For performance reasons, I recommend that you run the database locally on the same server then the websites. In that case, the sites can connect to mysql trogh a local server socket instaed of tcpip which is faster and need less resources.
Agreed, but in this case one (or more) separate db server(s) is/are needed. So the question is if you think it would be a good idea to integrate into the core.
Maybe the clientdb plugin could have a hook that is called on every db / website update and automatically adds db rights for the web server(s)? In multiserver setup only - of course.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th June 2010, 11:53
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,792
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,337 Times in 4,187 Posts
Default

Quote:
Maybe the clientdb plugin could have a hook that is called on every db / website update and automatically adds db rights for the web server(s)? In multiserver setup only - of course.
This is an option, but then we will have to add a selector for the website that this databse belongs to to the database form.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th June 2010, 13:07
Croydon Croydon is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 922
Thanks: 16
Thanked 259 Times in 206 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
This is an option, but then we will have to add a selector for the website that this databse belongs to to the database form.
Wouldn't it be a better solution to simply grant access to all webservers the owner of the db has websites on? So he can use a database from any website, no matter on which webserver in the farm it is.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th June 2010, 13:19
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,792
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,337 Times in 4,187 Posts
Default

Thats possible but has some drawbacks. If the database server is not the master, then the mysql plugin is not able to lookup this information. In this case, the IP addresses can not be changed and no IP's can be added when e.g a website gets added as the event will never reach the database server. The only other solution will be to do it in the interface and write all IP addresses in the allowed IP field and enable the remote access checkbox by default. But then we do not win much over the current situation.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
database, ispconfig 3, remote access

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenLDAP + Samba Domain Controller On Ubuntu 7.10 E1sbaer HOWTO-Related Questions 3 7th May 2008 18:41
postfixadmin database access error yupinho Installation/Configuration 5 3rd April 2008 02:32
Mail System doesnt work! crichton Installation/Configuration 3 17th September 2007 23:49
How To ACCESS MySQL DATABASE FROM PHP CODE FOR SQUIRRELMAIL SERVER Ghose Sumon HOWTO-Related Questions 1 21st May 2007 21:41
Questions in regards to ISP-Server Setup - Ubuntu 5.10 "Breezy Badger" rbrantley HOWTO-Related Questions 16 10th April 2006 18:26


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.