Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st May 2006, 11:37
DVS DVS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default How To ISP install (Ubuntu 5.10 / Fedora 5)

Hey there.

I'm a newB

I'm strugeling with something STUPID I know and the awnser is right infront of me but I'm blinded by my own noobness.

I'm trying to install the ISP server for Ubuntu OR Fedora (I tried both) and I get stuck at the same place -
after installation at the "trying to update and install the software packages".

I followed the tutorials (both) to the detail (and up to this point of the install that is not a lot!!!) but when I get to "apt-get update" in Ubuntu, it searches for the repo's (the ones I changed it to - us / de you name it, I've tried them) but gives errors (Can't connect etc etc.)

With Fedora same thing. When I get to the "yum install fetchmail wget bzip2 unzip zip nmap openssl lynx fileutils ncftp" it starts out trying to install but konks out for some unknown reason.

I have a static IP, netmask, gateway and 2 DNS IP's. With Ubuntu I have NO idea where to put the DNS's. But the problem persists with Fedora having a section just for DNS IP's in the GUI installation....weird thing is I don't even have to insert the DNS's, Fedora picks them up on it's own! Only thing I don't have is a domain name (that will come once my server runs).

Once installed I "ifconfig" and Bob is my uncle and I ping my router and it works. I ping the "to be server" and it gets picked up. I do a full install of Ubuntu using these IP settings and I update as happely as anything but as soon as I go "server" on any of the two distro's I get stuck at getting the packages.

What can it be that I am missing??? could I be so blind?

Any info will be appreciated thank you.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 21st May 2006, 14:02
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,509
Thanks: 815
Thanked 5,269 Times in 4,130 Posts
Default

Please check the nameservers in the file:

/etc/resolv.conf
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st May 2006, 14:20
DVS DVS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default resolve.conf

Hey there, thanks for the reply...

Well, resolve.conf looks to be right - now I know where the DNS IP's go thnx

it looks like:

'
search co.za
nameserver "some.IP.here"
nameserver "another.IP.here"
'
'
'
'

These IP's are the correct ones...quadroopaly x 7 checked.

I'm currently trying the Fedora install so here's what it sais trying to do the "yum"...

--------
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up install process
Setting up reposiroties
updates [1/3]
---------
now it idle's a bit....
then this:

Cannot find the valid baseurl for repo: updates
Error: Cannot find a valid baseurl for repo: updates

then back to root prompt.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st May 2006, 14:23
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,509
Thanks: 815
Thanked 5,269 Times in 4,130 Posts
Default

What result do you get when you ping google:

ping -c 3 www.google.com
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st May 2006, 15:08
DVS DVS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Red face Getting off the hook



So when comes the first issue if "A Day in the life of the newB"??

At least this will entertain you if nothing else...
I've been working on this ALL day since 7 yesterday morning till 23:40
last night. 5 installations, two diffirent loser pc's later...I just checked my cabels
and realise (to a certain...I don't know what) that pc A is plugged into the router while pc B is not. PC B is the newly installed pc so no wonder I cant connect to the net. But this is where I will quit pondering...last night I pinged my router from pc B and picked it up........maybe I should write to the makers of "The Twilight ZoNe"?

Thank you for your concern and help though...

P.S. - now I know how to try and ping google aswell seeing that I tried that not knowing how to do it correctly...thnx
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't find 'make' on new Ubuntu install Arachne Kernel Questions 10 10th August 2006 21:32
Xen 3.0, Ubuntu 5.10, and Windows 2003 Server Jcorrea920 HOWTO-Related Questions 3 4th May 2006 11:26
Xen Ubuntu VM Install Question witless1 HOWTO-Related Questions 5 3rd May 2006 15:42
Fedora Core 5 x64 Perfect Install Question? gjcomputer Installation/Configuration 1 26th April 2006 09:27
ISP-Server Setup - Ubuntu 5.10 "Breezy Badger" --> PHP5 spudse HOWTO-Related Questions 1 30th March 2006 15:50


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.