Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th March 2010, 23:38
halouf halouf is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Running multiple instances of lighttpd

Hello,

I need to run multiple instancess of lighty with different configuration files. Did some search but didn't find anything about it. I copied lighty init script and modified it:

changed the pid, and added the following line:

LIGHTY_OPTS="-f /etc/lighttpd/lighttpd1.conf"

However when trying to run lighttpd1 (the second instance of lighty) I get the following error:

(network.c.300) can't bind to port: 10.10.10.5 80 Address already in use.

This adress is in fact already in use by the first instance of lighty, however it should not try to bind to that adress as I added the following line to lighttpd1.conf :

server.bind = "10.10.10.6"

Could anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong?

With regards
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th March 2010, 13:54
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Did you restart the first instance? What's the output of
Code:
netstat -tap
after you did so?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th March 2010, 01:39
halouf halouf is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you falko for the reply. I figured it out, the config file of the first instance contained a reference to the second ip adress, which made it to bind to both. Now I can start the second instance of lighty, and it's reachable. However it still uses the first IP for outbound traffic. Any idea on how can I force it to use eth0:0 for both in and out traffic?

With regards
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th March 2010, 01:39
halouf halouf is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you falko for the reply. I figured it out, the config file of the first instance contained a reference to the second ip adress, which made it to bind to both. Now I can start the second instance of lighty, and it's reachable. However it still uses the first IP for outbound traffic. Any idea on how can I force it to use eth0:0 for both in and out traffic?

With regards
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 4 TPS mail problem Hagforce HOWTO-Related Questions 13 10th February 2010 19:23
How to implement multiple instances of Postfix as mail relays springonion Server Operation 0 6th January 2010 11:28
CRON JOB never finishes, multiple instances of it. blackout General 6 17th August 2009 04:33
High on Lenny - Lvm Mount Problem Serverman Technical 1 23rd June 2009 17:26
server.php - multiple instances (100's!!!) Mitro General 9 21st June 2009 13:57


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.