Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > MyDNSConfig > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd March 2010, 16:12
compuaim compuaim is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Do I need mydnsconfig if I am running ipsconfig-3?

I have a brand new installation using perfect server fedora 12 64bit ispconfig-3

I am having some trouble with mydns but I am sure it has to do with me more than mydns,
mydns.config looks fine and changes in ispconfig3 are updating in the database. but I am still missing something since my server still not resolving the domain name.

I am very new to mydns, do I need to tell named to use mydns or is it automatic?

can some one tell me the bare minimum settings needed to get named and mydns to work on this senario?

server host name "server1"

name server registered with domain registrar "ns1.example.com"

domain name to be hosted on the the server "www.example.com"
the domain is registered with two name servers "ns1.example.com" and "ns2.some-other-server.com"

thank you so much for your help
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th March 2010, 12:16
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,733
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,596 Times in 4,407 Posts
Default

You dont need mydnsconfig, as mydnsconfig is the standalone verion of the dns module from ispconfig 3.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th March 2010, 15:47
trexen trexen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 169
Thanks: 15
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default Also got problem to get it to answer

at the outside (internet) as i whant my stand alone mydnsconfig to act as at DNS server for many Domains but i cant get it to work, properly and i follow the perfect setup debian lenny and for mydnsconfig, and mydns.conf looking ok.

it response ok on the inside but only for the domains i added.
Ports in router/firewalls for DNS is open also =)

Any idea
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th March 2010, 15:53
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,733
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,596 Times in 4,407 Posts
Default

mydns is not a resolver. So it can not resolve external domain names by itself. But you can set the Ip of a external dns server in mydns.conf that will be used by mydns for external domains.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th March 2010, 16:09
trexen trexen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 169
Thanks: 15
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default ...

Yes, but i can still point lots off domains to mydns server t be the master DNS for the different domains.

example:

i point my domain01.com to mydns server to be the internet master DNS and i whant mydns server o be master DNS for other domains, it that possible?

i have point my domain01.com to mydns server to be master DNS for thet domain, but the server dont answer from the internet.

i got several bind DNS servers on other public IP and thay works fine

rgds
Marcus
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th March 2010, 16:24
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,733
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,596 Times in 4,407 Posts
Default

Please read my post again. mydns does not contain a dns resolver, so you have to do what I explained above. That it works differently when you use bind does not matter in this case, thats as if you say, my new printer must work with linux because it works on windows....
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th March 2010, 16:26
trexen trexen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 169
Thanks: 15
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default ..

I see, bad for me, i realy like the gui =)

thanx
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 4 TPS mail problem Hagforce HOWTO-Related Questions 13 10th February 2010 19:23
High on Lenny - Lvm Mount Problem Serverman Technical 1 23rd June 2009 17:26
MyDNSConfig 3.0.1 released till General 0 7th April 2009 17:37
ISPconfig3 and myDNSconfig working together primesoftnz General 2 22nd March 2009 19:02
WARNING: services not running MicCo Installation/Configuration 31 4th September 2006 13:16


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.