Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th September 2009, 14:21
jeeva jeeva is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation Problems with client websites

Hi

Using ISPconfig3 + debian5 preconfigured-preinstalled distro from OVH.co.uk.

I've created a user, e.g. user1
then I've created a website for user1, e.g. domain1.com
created a shell for user1 with no jail.
setup the DNS, etc.

So when I go to domain1.com, i get

Code:
Welcome to your website!
This is the default index page of your website.

This file may be deleted or overwritten without any difficulty. This is produced by the file index.html in the web directory.

For questions or problems please contact support.
Powered by ISPConfig
When I FTP or SSH into user1. I get my directory list of /web /home /cgi-bin /etc /ssl /tmp /var, etc

cd web
/web$ rm -rf *
now /web is blank
I upload my website to /web, which is ofcourse full of files now including a new index.html & index.php.

when i go to domain1.com, I still get the "Welcome to your website - ISPconfig", eventhough I've replaced the files.

What have I done wrong?

Regards,
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th September 2009, 20:06
tyre tyre is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

is domain1.com the only site on the server? Or is a different domain (e.g. domain.com) the main server domain.

The reason I asked is I just had a problem similar, in that i had domain.com, I would add domain1.com, and domain1.com would show domain.com content. Change index.html on the domain.com to see if this is indeed the case.

The problem was, as till pointed out, that I didn't have the server's IP setup in the system settings, and so since I had * selected as the IP - it was resolving to the main domains page, and not that of the user/domain that i had created.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tyre For This Useful Post:
linuxbastard (21st November 2009)
  #3  
Old 28th September 2009, 11:33
Stown Stown is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Limburg, NL
Posts: 83
Thanks: 12
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Stown
Default

How do we even can setup a main domein? I have this same problem, i have now domains that point with the dns to my ispconfig server without the created domain in ispconfig, when i go to that domains, i get eertwegh.nl that is one of the 4 domains i setup in ispconfig.

How can i change the main domain and when a domain points to my server ip it should be the message "Apache works" right?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th September 2009, 13:11
Mccy_McFlinn Mccy_McFlinn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hello Stown,

It all depends how you've configured apache. The default index.html for apache is the "it works!" page.

It sounds like you've assigned the external IP address of your server to one of the sites you're hosting (eertwegh.nl). This has made that site the default site to be displayed if anyone navigates to the IP address of your server or uses a domain name that has a DNS record pointing to the server with no site configured as is your setup below.

I'd check the default config file in /etc/apache2/sites-available. Make sure that it shows <Virtualhost *:80>. Then check the eertwegh.nl vhost file in the same directory. Make sure it shows <Virtualhost *:80> as it sounds like it's probably showing <Virtualhost 1.1.1.1:80> (where 1.1.1.1 is your external ip address).

Assuming that all host files show *:80 then the default index page will be displayed when navigating to the IP address of the server. You might want to change the default page to something more descriptive or personalised than the "it works!" page but that's just my personal choice.

Any problems or questions then let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th September 2009, 14:11
Stown Stown is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Limburg, NL
Posts: 83
Thanks: 12
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Stown
Default

Okay thank you. But what if i want that eertwegh.nl only works on 1.2.3.4 and not on 1.2.3.5 and 1.2.3.6? This way i am creating a main domein or not? That should not be possible, looks like a bug or not?

Last edited by Stown; 28th September 2009 at 14:13.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th September 2009, 14:33
Mccy_McFlinn Mccy_McFlinn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

This isn't a bug, this is how Apache is designed. I'd have to do some reading with regards to the finer details as I have far more experience with IIS. I'll check up and find how to specify a default domain for specified IP Addresses in apache and get back to you shortly.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th October 2009, 02:31
reason8 reason8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 141
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeeva View Post
Hi

Using ISPconfig3 + debian5 preconfigured-preinstalled distro from OVH.co.uk.

I've created a user, e.g. user1
then I've created a website for user1, e.g. domain1.com
created a shell for user1 with no jail.
setup the DNS, etc.

So when I go to domain1.com, i get

Code:
Welcome to your website!
This is the default index page of your website.

This file may be deleted or overwritten without any difficulty. This is produced by the file index.html in the web directory.

For questions or problems please contact support.
Powered by ISPConfig
When I FTP or SSH into user1. I get my directory list of /web /home /cgi-bin /etc /ssl /tmp /var, etc

cd web
/web$ rm -rf *
now /web is blank
I upload my website to /web, which is ofcourse full of files now including a new index.html & index.php.

when i go to domain1.com, I still get the "Welcome to your website - ISPconfig", eventhough I've replaced the files.

What have I done wrong?

Regards,
I am having this very same problem but on a second machine that I have just recently configured using the Perfect Server guide for OpenSuse 11.1

In addition, the new files created on either websites are "Not Found" and giving me a 404 error but the default ISPConfig3 page "Welcome to your website!" is loaded on all websites via a browser. Even after deleting the index.html file originally created with a new domain the page is still loading.

I have added the server IP and selected them for each account with so resolution of the problem. As I said, I have another box running the exact same Linux OS and version of ISPConfig 3 with the original box running perfectly.

Could someone help me with this? Thanks!
__________________
Running:

ISPConfig 3
openSUSE Linux 11.3
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th October 2009, 11:26
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,381
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,482 Times in 4,316 Posts
Default

Any errors in the system log in the monitoer? Have all items been processed in the jobqueue?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th October 2009, 11:33
reason8 reason8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 141
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Any errors in the system log in the monitoer? Have all items been processed in the jobqueue?
Thanks for tht response. I just realized that the second web server is trying to access port 80 which is being used by the first. Anyway to rectify this problem? I looked at the proxy reversal method but it was for debian and I could not get it to work with open suse 11.1
__________________
Running:

ISPConfig 3
openSUSE Linux 11.3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
web

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After moving a client into another group, the client cannot create anything tini Installation/Configuration 2 6th September 2009 20:43
SSL Issues on Client Websites deezone General 1 24th December 2008 17:06
Apache2 server stopped working and fails restart without error chillifire Installation/Configuration 3 13th March 2008 16:26
vsftp - 550 Failed to change directory latcarf Server Operation 8 14th May 2006 02:05
Users and websites aren't created Glorfindel Installation/Configuration 9 23rd February 2006 04:20


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.