Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th August 2009, 05:54
Barbaros.Oezdemir Barbaros.Oezdemir is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Aachen, Germany
Posts: 4
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Barbaros.Oezdemir Send a message via Skype™ to Barbaros.Oezdemir
Question ISPConfig 3 - Add Subdomains

I want to add some subdomains. To do this, i went on ISPConfig 3 menu => "Sites" => "Subdomain". Then i entered following:

Host: test
Domain: domain.com
Redirect type: No redirect
Redirect Path:
Active: "ok"

When i try to access test.domain.com i get the error "Address could not be found". I can access domain.com and myotherdomain.com witout any problem.

I have also tried following:

I deleted the subdomain. I entered a domain test.domain.com. The result didn't change.

How can i add subdomains?



I appreciate any feedback. Thanks a lot.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th August 2009, 08:43
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

The subdomain has to exist in dns too. So make sure that you created also a dns a record for the subdomain.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th August 2009, 22:14
Barbaros.Oezdemir Barbaros.Oezdemir is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Aachen, Germany
Posts: 4
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Barbaros.Oezdemir Send a message via Skype™ to Barbaros.Oezdemir
Default

As far as i could read on previous messages with similar subject, i have noticed, that what you mean with creating "DNS record" is about entering new DNS Zone's? Assuming that i understood it right, i did following:

I have created 2 DNS Zone's, one for myfirstdomain.com and one for myseconddomain.com .
As a result, now both domains show the same index.html. It is the one which belongs to myfirstdomain.com .

How can i create DNS records? Can you explain it please.



Thanks a lot for your responses.

PS:
I have two domains. 1 static IP, 1 server behind a router/firewall. All i want is to have separate index.html for my domains and to create Subdomains of myseconddomain.com .

Last edited by Barbaros.Oezdemir; 6th August 2009 at 05:13. Reason: minor change
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th August 2009, 18:24
dzudzu dzudzu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Serbia
Posts: 64
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Depending where you modify your dns zones u need to modify domain.com and *.domain.com to point to same ip and in ispconfig u need to create 2 different sites for those 2 different domains

As for dns zones, there are 2 cases: 1 is you modify them in the control panel of the supplier where you purchased domains or 2 u use mydns that came with ispconfig
__________________
EonTek.rs - System Engineering

dzudzu
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dzudzu For This Useful Post:
Barbaros.Oezdemir (9th August 2009)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Faster way to add subdomains? TumbleN General 1 12th February 2009 10:17
How do I add a new package to the ispconfig repo? quentusrex Developers' Forum 1 4th November 2008 13:39
ISPconfig after installation cannot reach www.xyz.de:81 Figth4Linux Installation/Configuration 23 6th March 2008 22:38
Is there a Script to add Multiple Domains (websites) to ISPCONFIG??? bpmee Programming/Scripts 2 23rd February 2007 01:33
@www.domain.tld | ISPConfig - add a user Hans General 4 10th April 2006 12:13


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.