Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th July 2009, 14:58
cbalaji cbalaji is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Kind help sought: FC11 booting to blank screen after upgrade from fc10

Hai,

I was working with FC10. Whenever I reboot, automatic updates are performed. Recently an option to upgrade FC10 to FC11 appeared automatically (similar to the second screen shot given at http://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-upg...top-and-server ). Because this appeared automatically I didnt get a chance to perform the command line statements that were given at the same site (especially, yum clean all, I dont know if that is the problem). Except for these commands everything followed similar to the way explained in the web page http://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-upg...top-and-server .

During reboot the upgrade was performed. However, I am not able to successfully get into the FC11 desktop. When booted with FC11 (I also have windows xp), the system enters to a blank screen. Did some search in the internet, however I was not able to get to the thread that addresses this problem. Some of the suggestions given were to append 3 or 1 in the kernal parameter, however this was not helping, again the system enters to a blank screen and whatever I write using the keyboard appears on the screen. I am sure that this blank screen is not a shell.

I request the users to kindly give their suggestions and help me overcome this problem.

Regards,
C. Balaji
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17th July 2009, 00:33
fiveable fiveable is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Same exact problem here.

I have the same problem. Upgraded via DVD from 8 to 9 with no problem. Then went from 9 to 10 and the problem started. At first I thought it was a problem with the nvidia driver so I switched to the second console screen and tried rebuilding the driver using the nvidia command line utility. Even as root the process faild and I did not have permission to run things like "shutdown -h now".

The blank screen behaves this way. After the last script in rc5.d runs the screen flashes rapidly quite a few times and drops to a black screen with blinking rectangle cursor. You can move the cursor with the mouse. You can highlight parts of the screen with the mouse. I agree with the previous post that this is not a shell. It is possible to type characters but CtrlC,CtrlD,CtrlZ have no effect.

Has anyone seen this before???
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th July 2009, 00:37
fiveable fiveable is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Additional info...

I went ahead and upgraded further from Fedora (x86_64) 10 to 11 via DVD with the hope that some updates would resolve the problem. After "successfully upgrading" to Fedora 11 the problem still exists.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th July 2009, 01:00
fiveable fiveable is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thumbs up Solved

Ok, as it turns out this problem is an X problem.

Simply move the xorg.conf file to xorg.conf.bak and reboot.


From the blank screen I did the following and it worked:
-------------------------------------------------------

Alt-F2 (to switch to the second console screen)

login as root

cd /etc/X11

mv xorg.conf xorg.conf.20090716

ctrl-alt-del to reboot

Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to fiveable For This Useful Post:
antonio148 (8th August 2009)
  #5  
Old 17th July 2009, 05:05
cbalaji cbalaji is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hai Fiveable,
As I was in urgent need, I went for an fresh install to FC11 and it went on smoothly without problem . Sorry, I could not get an opportunity to try your suggestion.
Thanks,
C. Balaji
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th August 2009, 02:48
antonio148 antonio148 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default worked for me

Quote:
Originally Posted by fiveable View Post
Ok, as it turns out this problem is an X problem.

Simply move the xorg.conf file to xorg.conf.bak and reboot.


From the blank screen I did the following and it worked:
-------------------------------------------------------

Alt-F2 (to switch to the second console screen)

login as root

cd /etc/X11

mv xorg.conf xorg.conf.20090716

ctrl-alt-del to reboot


thank you
you just saved my weekend
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.