Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28th June 2009, 14:02
xeross xeross is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default [PowerDNS] Return Different IP's for lan then internet

Hey,

I was wondering, Is it possible to return a different ip for a domain name for lan pc's and people from the internet.

So a request from in the lan resolves to for example: 192.168.0.3
And for internet: 83.56.29.18

Is this possible ?

Thank you for your time, Xeross
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 29th June 2009, 12:32
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Yes: http://www.howtoforge.com/two_in_one_dns_bind9_views
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th June 2009, 14:15
xeross xeross is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Too bad I'm using powerdns and not bind
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th June 2009, 02:01
id10t id10t is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 240
Thanks: 2
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Default

You could run 2 instances of PowerDNS, bind one to your internet NIC and one to your LAN nic.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th June 2009, 11:02
xeross xeross is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So I can bind it to my wan address even though I have a router ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30th June 2009, 15:09
id10t id10t is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 240
Thanks: 2
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Default

Ah, probably not then....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remoting bernholdt General 6 24th June 2011 13:38
how can i add ips to node ? RoMiONeT Technical 1 20th June 2009 12:30
Opening TPC ports thehappyappy Installation/Configuration 12 7th May 2008 18:39
Can't connect to the internet Leadwings HOWTO-Related Questions 3 6th May 2008 21:12
High Availability Samba cluster - DRBD + Heartbeat djalex Server Operation 58 25th May 2007 19:38


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.