Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 17th June 2009, 15:14
manarak manarak is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 262
Thanks: 32
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default Guidance needed for setting up a subdomain, please

Hi, I searched the forum, but I found nothing that was very clear on how to achieve the following:

I have a site domain.com

I have a /subdomain directory inside /web, like this: /web/subdomain

I want subdomain.domain.com to point to /web/subdomain, /web/subdomain being new root dir for the site on the subdomain.

I want to access all files with the same FTP user.


Thanks!

P.S. I tried to setup a subdomain by just setting up a site for it and then added a DNS zone with the wizard if it were a different site, but it doesn't seem to work:
While the subdomain works correctly, the content of the subdomain is shown on the main domain instead of the main domain's content.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17th June 2009, 15:16
Croydon Croydon is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 922
Thanks: 16
Thanked 259 Times in 206 Posts
Default

Just use the redirect function and set the redirect path to /subdomain/ and the type to L.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Croydon For This Useful Post:
manarak (17th June 2009)
  #3  
Old 17th June 2009, 15:18
manarak manarak is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 262
Thanks: 32
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default

hmm... the path would be the server path, like /var/www/... etc?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th June 2009, 15:32
manarak manarak is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 262
Thanks: 32
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default

and what should I do with the DNS zone?

I would like to know exactly what to do.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th June 2009, 15:35
Croydon Croydon is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 922
Thanks: 16
Thanked 259 Times in 206 Posts
Default

No, not the server path. Just the path inside the web.
DNS Zone? Same as the main zone for this website.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Croydon For This Useful Post:
manarak (17th June 2009)
  #6  
Old 17th June 2009, 15:36
manarak manarak is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 262
Thanks: 32
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default

so, I don't need to create a DNS Zone for the subdomain, right?

So the process would be:

1- create a site standard normally, domain.com
2- inside that site, create a /subdomain/ subfolder
3- create a new site on ISPC, with domain subdomain.domain.com
4- setup an "L" redirect to folder /subdomain/ (typed like that exactly)

is that correct?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guidance needed for setting up a subdomain please manarak Installation/Configuration 1 17th June 2009 13:56
Upgrade to php 5.2 in suse 10.1 gimhan90 Installation/Configuration 3 1st January 2009 20:32
odbc Chad Installation/Configuration 0 10th April 2008 01:43
Installing Yum in CentOS on a VPS coolvik Installation/Configuration 1 12th March 2008 19:49
Help....package missing sbovisjb1 Installation/Configuration 3 31st March 2006 11:14


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.