#1  
Old 8th April 2006, 20:59
leen leen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default dns question

I have made a codomain like name.domain.com.
I redirect it to www.domain.com/users/name.

Then I configured my other computer to the dns server of my ispserver.

When I typed http://name.domain.com in my browser it redirected correctly to th right website.

My question is why doesn't it work when I turn back to the nameserver of my provider?

Will it later be working properly for yhe world or only with my own nameserver?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 9th April 2006, 12:38
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,750
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,329 Times in 4,181 Posts
Default

How long did you wait after you entered the DNS at your provider? DNS records may take up to 48 hours to become valid.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th April 2006, 13:38
leen leen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It is now the next day and it is still not working. Allmost 24 hours later

But I will try later in a few days or so.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th April 2006, 18:08
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

You can check with
Code:
dig www.yourdomain.com
if the domain is pointing to the correct IP address now.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th April 2006, 21:38
leen leen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

dig www.mydomain.nl is ok but name.mydomain.nl isn't.

I think this is strange because I used my own server before and used
<virtual hosts> before. (did it all by hand)
And then it redirected to the folder I used for the user.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th April 2006, 23:08
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,750
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,329 Times in 4,181 Posts
Default

DNS is not the same then apache virtual hosts!

Create an A-Record for name on the nameserver that is authoritive for mydmain.nl.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Forwarding Question For Virtual Users And Domains With Postfix, Courier And MySQL (+ mrjjman HOWTO-Related Questions 3 6th April 2006 11:23
Backup question.... toyito Installation/Configuration 3 11th February 2006 11:49
Debian Question AngelDrago Installation/Configuration 8 18th January 2006 06:05
UebiMiau question... toyito Installation/Configuration 4 11th January 2006 19:29
another quota question... Ovidiu General 9 21st December 2005 01:08


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.