Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th May 2009, 14:42
xichvi xichvi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: tbilisi
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to xichvi
Default Question About VMware Images and it's configuration on Windows OS

I have download VMware Images :

The Perfect Server - Ubuntu 8.10 [ISPConfig 3]
The Perfect Server - OpenSUSE 11.1 [ISPConfig 3]
The Perfect Server - Debian Lenny i386 [ISPConfig 3]


but i have problem :

i using windows xp and try to install VMware server 2.0 and when i try to open this images i receive err


please somebody give me the guide which operation system i must use, also please edvice which versions are best for my case - VMware server 1.2 or 2.0?

also if there write all opportunity how to install on windows its will be better
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11th May 2009, 21:13
guawhitehawk guawhitehawk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via ICQ to guawhitehawk
Default

Hi,

i haven´t tested the images yet but you should use VMWare Server 1.6.x which is the newest 1.x version because there you have a GUI like VMWare Workstation - VMWare Server 2.0 only has a WebUI and is definitely built for servers

you also may try out the latest Virtualbox 2.2 binary from Sun! It can handle vmdks as well - so you need to mount the vmdk as a hard drive to a self-made virtual machine.

hope it helps a little bit - and you should tell us which error occures while trying to load in the VMs!

martin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th May 2009, 00:21
xichvi xichvi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: tbilisi
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to xichvi
Default

thanks for all,


server started but in text mode, and shows this


and after this what i mast to do???
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th May 2009, 00:26
guawhitehawk guawhitehawk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via ICQ to guawhitehawk
Default

it shows what? server started in text mode? can you show us some screenshots and/or messages and a little more with which virtualization method?
(kannst mir auch in deutsch schreiben wenn dir englisch schwer fällt)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th May 2009, 00:39
xichvi xichvi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: tbilisi
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to xichvi
Default



there is
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th May 2009, 00:42
guawhitehawk guawhitehawk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via ICQ to guawhitehawk
Default

Ok thats it....you have successfully logged in as root into the server - the Virtual Machine Image is a "Server"-version without a graphic frontend like KDE/GNOME. Everything worked correct as it seems to me because login came and i (you!) were able to login.

Your problem is solved!

Greetz and good night (its 11:41 pm at me)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.