Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 9th May 2009, 10:20
Leow Leow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 51
Thanks: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Leow
Default The Perfect Server - Ubuntu (What is my hostname?)

Greetings,

Quote:
2 Preliminary Note

In this tutorial I use the hostname server1.example.com ....
I just want to know if we can put anything as our hostname? or do I need to purchase a domain name first? if, for EXAMPLE I have a domain as www.leow747.com then I will need to put something as servername.leow747.com?

Thank you.

Last edited by Leow; 9th May 2009 at 10:23. Reason: Careless posting of Topic which was not accurate of my problem
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 9th May 2009, 12:35
hazard1nc hazard1nc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I did the ubuntu install as well. The only thing I had to do differently was use 1 name and not the whole name.

Yes, you can use a made up name, make sure any routers that you use are using dns relay so that you do not get some bill collectors at your door for it ( just joking..) anyway, you can put what ever you want for a name.

I used: "Server" and nothing more for mine, it worked great! But, you may want to get a domain if your running this type of server in general, it was designed to control a domain much like an ISP's setup.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th May 2009, 14:58
Leow Leow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 51
Thanks: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Leow
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by hazard1nc View Post
I did the ubuntu install as well. The only thing I had to do differently was use 1 name and not the whole name.

Yes, you can use a made up name, make sure any routers that you use are using dns relay so that you do not get some bill collectors at your door for it ( just joking..) anyway, you can put what ever you want for a name.

I used: "Server" and nothing more for mine, it worked great! But, you may want to get a domain if your running this type of server in general, it was designed to control a domain much like an ISP's setup.
Thank you, hazard1nc. Is that meaning that if I plan to install ISPConfig, then I will need a domain name?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th May 2009, 15:13
hazard1nc hazard1nc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

it mean's that it would be good, but its nothing you have to do. I found that 1and1.com are offering $0.99 yearly biz domains ($6.00 with some tax and additions here and there).

Seriously though, you don't need to have a domain to run the system, I am pretty sure that if you really wanted to, you could use a dynamic domain for it, but you'd have to chop at MyDNS's Expert configurations to get it working right.

If your not using it to send email to your friends down the way from you, it would not work unless your sharing a connection together. mail servers talk together and require an MX Record from a domain, most times thats not possible without registering a domain.

I really don't know how to be much more help with this, so I hope this helped
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hazard1nc For This Useful Post:
Leow (9th May 2009)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 12:19
help with, The Perfect Server - Ubuntu Hardy Heron (Ubuntu 8.04 LTS Server) kajillin Server Operation 1 28th August 2008 04:01
The Perfect Server - Ubuntu Hardy Heron (Ubuntu 8.04 LTS Server) Audre HOWTO-Related Questions 1 2nd July 2008 11:56
How to customize system folders icons on Ubuntu 8.04 LTS (Hardy Heron) webbie_webb HOWTO-Related Questions 1 7th May 2008 23:27
Webmail Relay Error palkat General 17 23rd April 2006 18:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.