Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.

Old 22nd March 2006, 16:38

Default Questions in regards to ISP-Server Setup - Ubuntu 5.10 "Breezy Badger"

I am relatively new to linux in itself, although I have played around with RH, SuSE, and Mandrake in the distant past. I want to be able to run my own web server using the ISPConfig HowTo. I followed the instruction and it seems to be working grat. Much kudos to tado for writing this easy to follow setup. However I'm having some problems understanding a few issues. Here is some basic information on what I've already done or have in place:
  • Registered thermalhost.com
  • Also currently have cipherghost.com and 454corp.com which I have owned for several years hosted elsewhere. (Ideally I'd like to move these domains onto this box as well)

1) On page 3, under the section Setting the Hostname it gives an exmple as follows:

Code:
echo server1.example.com > /etc/hostname
/bin/hostname -F /etc/hostname