Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 24th March 2009, 02:52
Polk Polk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 84
Thanks: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Polk Send a message via MSN to Polk
Default ISPConfig3: FastCGI not working after upgrading to 5.2.9

Hi,

I have updated PHP to 5.2.9 from
http://www.dotdeb.org/2009/03/11/php...kaged-at-last/

After the update FastCGI is not working anymore when I switch it in ISPConfig3. but when I use CGI it's working fine. Any ideas what could change and how to enable both modes?

OS: Debian Lenny(5) x64.

PS: Is dotdeb.org a good source to update PHP and Mysql anyway?

Hope you can help.
thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th March 2009, 09:09
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,405
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

Maybe the php package that you used is just a php-cgi without fastcgi support compiled in. If you run php-cgi -v then the fcgi binding should be mentioned in the output. example:

# php-cgi -v

PHP 5.2.6-1+lenny2 with Suhosin-Patch 0.9.6.2 (cgi-fcgi) (built: Jan 26 2009 22:35:55)
Copyright (c) 1997-2008 The PHP Group
Zend Engine v2.2.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2008 Zend Technologies
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th March 2009, 09:15
Polk Polk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 84
Thanks: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Polk Send a message via MSN to Polk
Default

Yes, I get this:

PHP 5.2.9-0.dotdeb.1 with Suhosin-Patch 0.9.7 (cgi-fcgi)

So that means the switch in ISPConfig3 will not work anymore? I guess I get now FastCGI when setting in ISPC3 is CGI and when I switch to FastCGI nothing is working. Any ideas how to fix the ISPC3 mappings?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th March 2009, 09:21
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,405
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Polk View Post
So that means the switch in ISPConfig3 will not work anymore?
No.

Quote:
I guess I get now FastCGI when setting in ISPC3
I'am sure thats not the case. fcgi and cgi are very different technics and are configured differently, so you can not get fcgi when you selcted cgi.

Which is the exact error message that you get when you use fastcgi?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th March 2009, 17:23
Polk Polk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 84
Thanks: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Polk Send a message via MSN to Polk
Default

I don't get anything. Just a 403 error page from ISPC3.

Actually now I was playing with it and i think it's not working on only one domain, but works on all the other domains i add on the server. But, when i do "<?php phpinfo();?>", despite my settings CGI or FastCGI, the result is the same.

Code:
Build Date 	Mar 8 2009 12:20:47
Server API 	CGI/FastCGI
Virtual Directory Support 	disabled
Configuration File (php.ini) Path 	/etc/php5/cgi
Loaded Configuration File 	/etc/php5/cgi/php.ini
Scan this dir for additional .ini files 	/etc/php5/cgi/conf.d
additional .ini files parsed 	/etc/php5/cgi/conf.d/gd.ini, /etc/php5/cgi/conf.d/imagick.ini, /etc/php5/cgi/conf.d/imap.ini, /etc/php5/cgi/conf.d/mcrypt.ini, /etc/php5/cgi/conf.d/mysql.ini, /etc/php5/cgi/conf.d/mysqli.ini, /etc/php5/cgi/conf.d/pdo.ini, /etc/php5/cgi/conf.d/pdo_mysql.ini
Now, Can you tell me what ISPC3 actually does exactly when we switch to CGI and FastCGI. What does it do technically and where can I look to make sure it does what it needs to do?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th March 2009, 17:25
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,405
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

The error messages are in the error log of the website. Please open the log and post the last error messages.

Quote:
But, when i do "<?php phpinfo();?>", despite my settings CGI or FastCGI, the result is the same.
Thats always the case as phpinfo is not able to show the differences between the two modes.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
fast-cgi, php5

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPconfig3 and myDNSconfig working together primesoftnz General 2 22nd March 2009 18:02
SSL on ISPconfig3 not working novaflash Developers' Forum 4 20th January 2009 22:38
Upgrading to ISPConfig3 spidla Installation/Configuration 2 11th August 2008 12:44
Upgrading to 2.2.19 not working celtic Installation/Configuration 6 14th March 2008 13:41
fastCGI and PHP just wont work! meridianblade Server Operation 13 9th January 2007 18:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.