Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20th March 2009, 20:45
gamboni gamboni is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Apache handeling SSL requests and passing them through to HAproxy

Hi

I am trying to set up a Haproxy/Apache front end, serving requests to a number of Apache back end servers. The goal is to have Haproxy handle all http requests and since Haproxy can't handle SSL I want Apache to handle the SSL and pass them along to Haproxy. Then Haproxy should do all the reverse proxying for the rest of the back end Apache servers.

So far I have only been able to set this up successfully for http requests handles by Haproxy but unsuccessful in getting this to work with Apache.

Has anyone done this successfully? If yes can you provide examples of the Apache and Haproxy config please?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 21st March 2009, 21:06
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

You can try to do this with Apache's reverse proxy feature.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd March 2009, 00:12
gamboni gamboni is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Can you provide some examples as far as code for how this done please?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd March 2009, 15:16
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

http://www.howtoforge.com/apache_rev...roxy_ispconfig

Another solution might be to use Squid.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th June 2009, 20:02
wxman wxman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 189
Thanks: 11
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I know this is an aging post, but I'm running into the same question. I have HAProxy/heartbeat on one virtual node, and my web server on another. Then the whole thing is duplicated on a second machine. I need to run SSL on a few of my web sites, and I'm using ISPConfig 3. My question is, what to do with ISPConfig? Do you install it on both nodes? If it's installed on the web server node, like it is now, how does it handle the certificate installations? Do you have to install the certificates on both nodes? As you can see, I'm a bit confused.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd September 2009, 04:48
jbimmerle jbimmerle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
I know this is an aging post, but I'm running into the same question. I have HAProxy/heartbeat on one virtual node, and my web server on another. Then the whole thing is duplicated on a second machine. I need to run SSL on a few of my web sites, and I'm using ISPConfig 3. My question is, what to do with ISPConfig? Do you install it on both nodes? If it's installed on the web server node, like it is now, how does it handle the certificate installations? Do you have to install the certificates on both nodes? As you can see, I'm a bit confused.
Anyone have any ideas on what would be done in this scenario? I too am curious as I have a similar setup in mind.

Also -- is it confirmed that HAProxy doesn't work with SSL? If it does, would the SSL certificates need to be installed on the load balancers (I plan to have two) or on the webservers? Since the virtual IPs are pointed to the load balancers, I would assume the certificates needed to be on those servers since they are tied to specific IP addresses? Or am I way off base?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.