#1  
Old 19th March 2006, 00:18
Commdude Commdude is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Central Oregon
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default DNS Zone file configuration

I've had several problems which I'm sure are related to my DNS configuration. Here's my record for my main domain:

"A" RECORD: @ 71.39.7.66
www 71.39.7.66
netsrvr1 71.39.7.66
smtp 71.39.7.66

CNAMES (Aliases): None
MX (Mail Exchangers) : 0 @ netsrvr1.bitterbrushnet.com
TEXT: @ v=spf1 a ptr mx:smtp.bitterbrushnet.com -all

My reverse DNS record is configured as:
71.39.7.66 >>> bitterbrushnet.com My ISP only allows one entry per IP address. Is this normal, or is it just them?

I had problems (mail test failure) when I used smtp.bitterbrushnet.com in the MX record. When I changed it to netsrvr1 (my real hostname as configured during initial installation) I was able to receive mail. So, (1) what is the optimum zone file configuration, and (2) how does this apply to virtual hosts? Do their MX records read "smtp.virtualhost.com"?

Last edited by Commdude; 19th March 2006 at 00:21.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19th March 2006, 00:38
Cirox Cirox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

every ip can have only one reverse dns name, but many domains could point to one ip.

i dont know exactly if this solves your problem, but for a right configured mailserver, its better to use reversedns name = fqdn of your box and you have to have a dns.zone like this for example:

@ IN MX 10 yourserver
smtp IN CNAME yourserver
yourserver IN A ip.from.yourserver

with smtp.example.com you can reach imap and smtp server to send/recieve mails with your client

greetings cirox

Last edited by Cirox; 19th March 2006 at 01:09.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th March 2006, 01:28
Commdude Commdude is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Central Oregon
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cirox
Hi,

every ip can have only one reverse dns name, but many domains could point to one ip.

i dont know exactly if this solves your problem, but for a right configured mailserver, its better to use reversedns name = fqdn of your box and you have to have a dns.zone like this for example:

@ IN MX 10 yourserver
smtp IN CNAME yourserver
yourserver IN A ip.from.yourserver

with smtp.example.com you can reach imap and smtp server to send/recieve mails with your client

greetings cirox
My ISP does not give me the capability to configure anything in my reverse zone file other than my domain. I'll do a reverse DNS check and see what I have.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th March 2006, 01:46
Commdude Commdude is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Central Oregon
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cirox
Hi,

every ip can have only one reverse dns name, but many domains could point to one ip.

i dont know exactly if this solves your problem, but for a right configured mailserver, its better to use reversedns name = fqdn of your box and you have to have a dns.zone like this for example:

@ IN MX 10 yourserver
smtp IN CNAME yourserver
yourserver IN A ip.from.yourserver

with smtp.example.com you can reach imap and smtp server to send/recieve mails with your client

greetings cirox
My ISP does not give me the capability to configure anything in my reverse zone file other than my domain. I'm using my registrar's namesservers, and they were no help in configuring my zone file. In fact, I called them and the rep told me that I couldn't use their nameservers if I was hosting my own sites.
I'll just keep trying to figure it out. Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th March 2006, 13:28
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

I found out that netsrvr1.bitterbrushnet.com doesn't exist:

Code:
dig netsrvr1.bitterbrushnet.com

; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> netsrvr1.bitterbrushnet.com
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 16522
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;netsrvr1.bitterbrushnet.com.   IN      A

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
bitterbrushnet.com.     10800   IN      SOA     NS3.SECURESERVER.NET. dns.jomax.NET. 2006031600 28800 7200 604800 86400

;; Query time: 166 msec
;; SERVER: 81.169.163.104#53(81.169.163.104)
;; WHEN: Sun Mar 19 13:27:09 2006
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 111
Where did you configure the DNS records? In ISPConfig or at your registrar?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th March 2006, 18:59
Commdude Commdude is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Central Oregon
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
I found out that netsrvr1.bitterbrushnet.com doesn't exist:

Where did you configure the DNS records? In ISPConfig or at your registrar?
I changed that to netsrvr1.bitterbrushnet.net. This is my tech domain and I also tried to find all the conf files that needed to be changed, and I'm not sure that I found them all. I am using my registrar's nameservers, so that is where the zone records are located. The last go-roound I checked the zone files on my server (although BIND is not running) to see what my configuration should look like. It didn't seem to be consistent from one site to another (zone files created by ISPConfig.) I think I'm going to have to reinstall everything on my server and start from scratch.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19th March 2006, 22:21
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,486
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,256 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Commdude
I changed that to netsrvr1.bitterbrushnet.net. This is my tech domain and I also tried to find all the conf files that needed to be changed, and I'm not sure that I found them all. I am using my registrar's nameservers, so that is where the zone records are located. The last go-roound I checked the zone files on my server (although BIND is not running) to see what my configuration should look like. It didn't seem to be consistent from one site to another (zone files created by ISPConfig.) I think I'm going to have to reinstall everything on my server and start from scratch.
The DNS of your technical domain has nothing to do with your ISPConfig BIND installation! Just go to your registrar and create an A-Record for netsrvr1.bitterbrushnet.com pointing to your server IP.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Next error while installing ISPconfig my-webhosting Installation/Configuration 1 12th March 2006 14:30
setup fails on debian 3.1 dtrumbower Installation/Configuration 7 7th March 2006 13:42
Update to 2.2.0 question brianetilley Installation/Configuration 10 4th March 2006 17:02
Debian install error jf1976 Installation/Configuration 25 19th January 2006 22:31
ISP install problems Debian sarge 3.1 lerra Installation/Configuration 1 5th January 2006 16:37


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.