Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd March 2009, 14:54
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,036
Thanks: 268
Thanked 152 Times in 132 Posts
Default Default DNS setup in ISPconfig 3

In ISPconfig 2 you have a DNS Default Ns1 and Ns2 option
(Management > Settings > DNS)

Now I'm testing ISPconfig 3, and would like to set the default DNS.
Where can I find this option?
Is this in System > Server > Nameservers, and if so should I add it like ns1.domain.tld, ns2.domain.tld (separated with commas?)
__________________
Never execute code written on a Friday or a Monday.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 3rd March 2009, 15:16
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,406
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

There is no default dns settings as ispconfig 3 does not create dns records automatically when you add a website.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd March 2009, 23:58
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,036
Thanks: 268
Thanked 152 Times in 132 Posts
Default

So in System > Server > Nameservers I need to enter the IP's of the DNS that I created at lets say godaddy (exampel)
I named the NS:
ns1.domain.tld with as IP: A..
ns2.domain.tld with as IP: B..

On the server I have 5 IP's.
2 IP's I want to use for the nameserver.
In System > Server > Nameservers I enter A.., B.. (with a comma)?

Sorry.. I'm used to ISPconfig 2 :-/
__________________
Never execute code written on a Friday or a Monday.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th March 2009, 00:49
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,406
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

ISPConfig 3 has no default setting for nameservers. The field in the server settings are the nameservers that your server uses to resolve domains (the servers listed in /etc/resolv.conf) and not the nameservers that you uses for your own domains.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
edge (4th March 2009)
  #5  
Old 4th March 2009, 08:55
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,036
Thanks: 268
Thanked 152 Times in 132 Posts
Default

Oops. My misstake. I was thinking about this already last night.
__________________
Never execute code written on a Friday or a Monday.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel 82815 Video Card & Ubuntu 8.10 harvey527 Kernel Questions 8 5th November 2010 14:51
Admin Program for Virtual Users and Domains Postfix courier etc...(Ubuntu 8.04)? the1rob HOWTO-Related Questions 11 4th August 2009 04:54
CentOS 5.1 Server Setup: LAMP, Email, DNS, FTP, ISPConfig (a.k.a. The Perfect Server) Derekman9 HOWTO-Related Questions 1 15th October 2008 13:35
ispconfig and external primary DNS FredZ Installation/Configuration 4 9th October 2006 14:50
Virtual Users And Domains With Postfix, Courier And MySQL (+ SMTP-AUTH, Quota, SpamAs pontifex HOWTO-Related Questions 2 26th October 2005 17:54


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.