Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th February 2009, 11:03
Up2NoGood Up2NoGood is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPConfig 2 - ISPConfig 3 backup compatibility

Good morning all

Please forgive me if this has been answered in an earlier post but I have been unable to locate it using search if it has.

I would very much like to upgrade my server to run ISPConfig 3 but I am aware that you have to do a clean install and ISPConfig 2 is not compatible with version 3. I take it this also includes the backup files?

Please can anyone tell me if there is a way around it and has anyone successfully conducted a migration to ISPConfig 3 from ver2 retaining all original user records?

Thank you in advance.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 26th February 2009, 13:30
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,022
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,655 Times in 4,464 Posts
Default

Quote:
I take it this also includes the backup files?
yes.

Quote:
Please can anyone tell me if there is a way around it and has anyone successfully conducted a migration to ISPConfig 3 from ver2 retaining all original user records?
You can not migrate from ispconfig 2 to 3 at the moment without recreating every site and user manually.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th February 2009, 21:20
Up2NoGood Up2NoGood is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Till, it is as I thought.

From my understanding of your reply this means that if I recreate the sites and users manually then the Version 2 backup files should load in Version 3?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th February 2009, 13:31
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,022
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,655 Times in 4,464 Posts
Default

Quote:
From my understanding of your reply this means that if I recreate the sites and users manually then the Version 2 backup files should load in Version 3?
ISPConfig 3 has no function to restore backup files form ispconfig 2. better you copy the content of the websites on the shell wirh e.g. scp to the new server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
Up2NoGood (6th March 2009)
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
backup, compatability, ispconfig 2, ispconfig 3

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig backup : corrupted zip file DrJohn General 5 4th September 2008 03:47
Suggestion for backing up using Backup Manager PermaNoob Feature Requests 2 11th August 2008 15:27
ISPConfig doesn't create anymore backup of configuration files since upgrade ADM Installation/Configuration 1 7th December 2007 20:24
backup mx with ispconfig and postfix the_spy General 4 18th May 2007 11:19
Prevent users from reading eachothers directories + ISPConfig compatibility Norman General 5 12th May 2006 12:02


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.