#1  
Old 16th February 2009, 05:05
bl4ckb1rd bl4ckb1rd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 36
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Default MyDNS ? Why ?

One question only... why was mydns imported into ISPconfig 3, instead of bind like old versions ?

For example... this crapy program is taking way too much cpu usage by doing absolutely nothing. I didn't even put server online and it's already consuming 9% of CPU usage... Here is just an example:

Quote:
top - 05:56:34 up 2 days, 8:38, 1 user, load average: 0.04, 0.06, 0.07
Tasks: 95 total, 2 running, 93 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
Cpu(s): 3.0%us, 6.9%sy, 0.0%ni, 90.1%id, 0.0%wa, 0.0%hi, 0.0%si, 0.0%st
Mem: 1035288k total, 951480k used, 83808k free, 148416k buffers
Swap: 6136312k total, 160k used, 6136152k free, 482920k cached

PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
24024 nobody 15 0 5700 980 540 S 8.8 0.1 0:09.12 mydns
I wonder how this thing will perform when i put like 100+ pages on it... it'll go nuts probably. I dont think changing defacto best dns service as bind is good idea, but ok please tell your opinion please.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 16th February 2009, 06:42
zcworld zcworld is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Australia
Posts: 329
Thanks: 2
Thanked 37 Times in 37 Posts
Send a message via MSN to zcworld Send a message via Skype™ to zcworld
Default

not sure why
but here is what i think
due to the MyDNS use an SQL backend to handle the DNS recoards
and you can add / change them on the fly without needing to restart the DNS server

but its odd that mydns is runing at an high level on your system there
i use it for my DNS server on my network for privte DNS and access to outside my LAN DNS lookups
without a problem / any CPU being used


maybe restart the system

or do an install in VM and see how its goes
see if it is using less CPU
__________________
Shane Ebert :: Facebok
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th February 2009, 11:50
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,405
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

Seems to be a problem with your server only. We are using mydns on several heavy used dns servers and the load is very low.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th February 2009, 18:19
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

You can configure caching in the MyDNS configuration. That might decrease your load. Also, you can optimize MySQL (e.g. enable the query cache).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th February 2009, 18:34
bl4ckb1rd bl4ckb1rd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 36
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Well as i dont have any zone in mydns yet, nor i have port open for dns, this means the daemon is idling in background doing nothing. That's the thing. So enabling cache or mysql cache wouldn't really help out at all i think. But ok i'll wait till repositories of centos 5.2 bring new mydns port and i'll update it and see if that fixes the issue. Else it's just very unoptimized dns daemon i guess...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th February 2009, 20:52
bl4ckb1rd bl4ckb1rd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 36
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Oh yes and here is munin graph of cpu usage... before you can see there was all the time cpu usage by "system"... and after i turned off "mydns" (i'll probably use bind for now), you can see how much system usage dropped out. Almost to zero...

http://www.shrani.si/?3N/6H/PPPsIVa/...st-cpu-day.png

Best regards.

Thanks for the replies though.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th February 2009, 09:42
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,405
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

From a freshly installed ispconfig 3 server without load on the dns server:

Code:
ps aux | grep mydns
USER       PID %CPU %MEM    VSZ   RSS TTY      STAT START   TIME COMMAND
nobody   11622  0.0  0.0   4792  1328 ?        Ss   Feb15   0:00 /usr/local/sbin/mydns -b
nobody   11623  0.0  0.0   4956  1468 ?        S    Feb15   0:00 /usr/local/sbin/mydns -b
root     26214  0.0  0.0   1720   504 pts/0    R+   08:41   0:00 grep mydn
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
bl4ckb1rd (18th February 2009)
  #8  
Old 18th February 2009, 15:01
bl4ckb1rd bl4ckb1rd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 36
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Default

what distro is this ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mydns missing LSB style header BIAF Installation/Configuration 2 13th February 2009 17:25
mydns settings/help believo General 1 26th January 2009 12:49
MyDNS (Master) -> Bind (Slave) Support todgerme General 4 4th September 2007 14:45
MyDNS rude awaking kaptk2 HOWTO-Related Questions 16 19th May 2006 21:29
MyDNS CentOS start on Reboot kaptk2 HOWTO-Related Questions 8 3rd April 2006 04:54


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.