Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th February 2009, 18:25
mss mss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Installing kvm /intrepid with hw support i386

Hello

I am a newbie to kvm and have followed your post to install kvm (at http://www.howtoforge.com/virtualiza...on-ubuntu-8.10 ) and built a vm. It was very useful. I am doing it over ubuntu 8.10 desktop.

Now that I am past that stage, I wanted to actually use the vm.

When I do
$ putty vm1
I am getting an error "No route to host"

And when I use virt-viewer
$ sudo virt-viewer -c qemu+ssh:///system
I get the error "unable to find vnc graphics for vm1"

What could be the problem?

Apreciate any help
Tx
MSS
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th February 2009, 13:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Are you running those commands on the KVM host or on a remote system?

Can you run
Code:
sudo virsh --connect qemu:///system
and then
Code:
list --all
to see if the vm is running?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th February 2009, 19:53
mss mss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am able to see the vm in virsh listing.

Also when I launch it with
$ kvm -hda disk01.img -m 512 -boot d -cdrom /home/ubiquity/hardy-i386.iso
I can boot into the rescue mode. And I see the ifconfig return an IP address in 10.2.x.x range
(My host IP is 172.25.65.xx)
But when I try to boot in the normal mode it fails to connect to archive.ubuntu.com
and fails to load a bunch of packges:
x11-common libxau6 libxdmcp6 libxcb1 libxcb-xlib0 libx11-data libx11-6 libext6 libxmuu1 xauth libedit2 openssh-client libwrap0 openssh-server tcpd


Host ifconfig (if it helps is)
$ ifconfig
br0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:41:55:f2:6c
inet addr:172.25.65.72 Bcast:172.25.65.95 Mask:255.255.255.224
inet6 addr: fe80::216:41ff:fe55:f26c/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:550813 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:16515 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:78146284 (78.1 MB) TX bytes:3489983 (3.4 MB)

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:41:55:f2:6c
inet6 addr: fe80::216:41ff:fe55:f26c/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:755646 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:16711 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
RX bytes:98480935 (98.4 MB) TX bytes:3504069 (3.5 MB)
Memory:ee000000-ee020000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:17587 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:17587 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:20779660 (20.7 MB) TX bytes:20779660 (20.7 MB)

vnet0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:00:00:00:00:00
inet addr:192.168.122.1 Bcast:192.168.122.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::bcdd:89ff:fe53:1f24/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:31 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:384 (384.0 B) TX bytes:5315 (5.3 KB)

vnet1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr b2:19:04:13:b0:0c
inet6 addr: fe80::b019:4ff:fe13:b00c/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:81 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:18579 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:500
RX bytes:6291 (6.2 KB) TX bytes:2922607 (2.9 MB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:13:02:4a:11:39
inet6 addr: fe80::213:2ff:fe4a:1139/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:204 (204.0 B)

wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-13-02-4A-11-39-31-33-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
$



Additionally

virsh # net-list --all
Name State Autostart
-----------------------------------------
default active yes

Should I be able to see the bridged network interface here also?


Thanks
MSS

Last edited by mss; 18th February 2009 at 01:17. Reason: added some info
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th February 2009, 20:36
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Can you start the vm from the virsh shell (instead of using kvm)?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
8.10, error, intrepid, kvm, ubuntu

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installation -- pcre_exec.c:403: internal compiler error: Segmentation fault zerman Installation/Configuration 2 23rd September 2008 23:58
Update php shajazzi Server Operation 6 6th April 2008 18:20
Problem installing ISPConfig on Suse10.1 nliebherr Installation/Configuration 18 14th September 2007 00:30
ERROR: The PHP binary coming with ISPConfig does not work properly on your system! micko_escalade Installation/Configuration 35 30th March 2007 11:31
ISPConfig Failure on SuSe 9.3 gimhan90 Installation/Configuration 13 2nd February 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.