Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th January 2009, 20:13
paulievox paulievox is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Networking: Routing / subnet question

Hi all, please excuse this basic question. (below runs on Centos5, no gui)

I'm using zoneminder with IP cameras, and found they put an immense strain on the local network (192.168.1.x). I rigged up a secondary router (10.0.1.x) for the cameras, and installed a second NIC on my camera server.

My intention was to have the server "bridge" the connections via a route. The only way i was able to gain connectivity from computers on the 192 side was this:
In the second NIC setup, i had to enter 192.168.1.1 as the gateway (as opposed to 10.0.1.1, which is what my secondary router lives as).

What I found was that I had successfully reduced the load on my primary network, but ZM performance was extremely slow.

Here's my question: With my setup, is all traffic still routing from the 10.0.1.x network, through the 192.168.1.1 router, and then to zoneminder?

Is there a better way I can set this up? I like the idea of having the cameras on their own router for troubleshooting and security purposes.

And again, please excuse my rudimentary question.
Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th February 2010, 23:45
dasearcher dasearcher is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You said.
"The only way i was able to gain connectivity from computers on the 192 side was this:"

What else did you try?

I'm guessing that you also added a route somewhere(to the workstations or the 192.x.x.x router) to 10.x.x.x via 192.x.x.x (Centos system 1st nic.)

Hmmm... What gateway IP are your camera's using? the Centos system or the other router?

Does the 10.x.x.x router go somewhere else? If not, then perhaps you can set the outside of the 10.x.x.x router in the 192.x.x.x network and point the 10.x.x.x traffic to that router instead of the Centos system 1st nic.

You may(will) need to enable routing on the Centos system for it to forward packets. It is likely off by default. I'm no help with that. Perhaps setting the 192.x.x.x as a gateway IP is a workaround to turning on routing.

What does zm performance is slow mean? Do the images in zm appear to be behind real time?

How many IP cameras are you using? I'm setting up a new Fedora 12 x86 64 system with Zoneminder (my old one with 6 cameras) runs with a load average around 4-5. And it is horribly slow. I'll be installing about 6 or 8 more cameras.

Last edited by dasearcher; 16th February 2010 at 00:04.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Traditional DNS easy question dayknight HOWTO-Related Questions 3 22nd May 2008 12:21
Proftpd stops and general install question JaJunk Installation/Configuration 6 10th May 2007 21:17
Sendmail Mail Routing namit Installation/Configuration 4 6th March 2007 20:55
Routing question virtual machines geek.de.nz Server Operation 1 2nd July 2006 18:13
Static Routing Question alienbob Server Operation 1 24th January 2006 17:49


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.