Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th November 2008, 17:36
Spaetzle Spaetzle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 56
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default setting www in DNS Manager

Hi


I have a little problem wit setting up some entries with DNS manager.
Maybe somebody has an idea what is going worng here.

First for the situation:
I have a customer who wants to use apples mobileMe Service.
For this some name server entries have to be changed.
An CNAME entry for www pointing to web.me.com should be created.
As in the domain already an A record for www is existing i deleted this first and cleard the trash bin.
Then I tried setting up a CNAME entry with host=www and target web.me.com.
For this I get an error message: Fr diesen Host existiert schon ein A-Record in dieser Zone. (For this host an A-Record is already existing).
I rechecked the trash bin already and searched the files in /etc/bind/ for this entry but could not find one.
If I check the nameserver with dig for www I get an correct answer for an existing entry.

Any hint on that? Another problem is that I can not recreate the A-record for www either.

In hope of help ...
Bernd
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th November 2008, 11:43
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,651 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

The old a records has not been deleted from the recycle bin, most likely you did not wait with emptying the recycle nbin until ispconfig has written the changes to disk. PLease empty all recycle bin's in the dns manager again.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th November 2008, 15:20
Spaetzle Spaetzle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 56
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi till

Negativ. I just rechecked all available trash bins ... there is nothing in.
I tried to create the CNAME another time as well as a new A-Record with no luck. The problem seems to be somewhere else ...
Always the same error message.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th November 2008, 18:10
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

Do you still see the record in the ISPConfig database?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th November 2008, 18:50
Spaetzle Spaetzle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 56
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi

I looked into the db. But I am not sure i exactly understand where to search for.
Is there a documentation of the tables available somewhere?

I found the Domain name of the given site in dns_isp_dns. When I search for the appropriate doc_id in table "dns_dep" I found two entries with child_doc_type 1018. Checking for th aproppiate child_doc_ids in table dns_a shows one entry with www as host and one with www2. Both entries existed in the past but where deleted in the ispconfig backend.
If the info is intresting: The tabel del_status is empty.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th November 2008, 12:27
Spaetzle Spaetzle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 56
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

As in the meantime the domain wasn't reachable wit www.domain.tld I deleted the whole Record and recreated it for the domain. After that I was able to add appropriate CNAME.
It seems, that something went wrong with deleting the entries in the domain.
I hope I do not run into other troubles now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mailscanner+header_checks not work wizard Server Operation 2 24th October 2008 17:48
Squid Proxy Caching on Linux obzerver Installation/Configuration 4 13th August 2008 20:51
Google Apps dayjahone General 19 29th March 2008 18:25
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 15:34
Problem recieving mail webstergd Installation/Configuration 19 16th December 2005 13:08


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.