Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th October 2008, 07:39
fedora777 fedora777 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How do I install ISPCONFIG IN A VIRTUAL HOST?

I tried to install Ispconfig. Everything went fine until I reach the part where it asked me the following:

please enter URL (www) --- I entered www
ok
Please enter domain (e.g. xyz.de) -- I entered the FQDN of our nameserver.

It gave me this response the URL is unreachable!

So I tried another FQDN which is in the same server. It went through. I chose, http after that by the way.

Then I tried accessing it, the server is telling me that the page is not found or server cannot connect.

How do you install ISPconfig in a virtual host? (Where a few domains already exist in the same server?)

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 28th October 2008, 14:50
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

A virtual host is no different from a physical server.

You must specify an FQDN that is pointing to the server. If there's no such FQDN, you can specify one in /etc/hosts (until you create the FQDN in DNS) or specify the server's ip address instead of the FQDN.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th October 2008, 16:03
fedora777 fedora777 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Hello

My server has a FQDN. Everything goes fine until I finish typing the URL.

Then I cannot access it. The I am getting an avc denial fromSE Linux. Do you have any idea about this?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th October 2008, 23:31
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
Default

As far as I know You have to disable SELinux. Otherwise You will have problems with running ISPConfig. Refer to the proper "Perfect Setup" tutorial for instructions how to do it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th October 2008, 02:59
fedora777 fedora777 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Uninstall SElinux?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leszek View Post
As far as I know You have to disable SELinux. Otherwise You will have problems with running ISPConfig. Refer to the proper "Perfect Setup" tutorial for instructions how to do it.
Do you mean I have to uninstall Linux? Or are you referring to the security policy of linux?

If you mean the 2nd question, then my server will be vulnerable. Or can I restore the security after installation?


Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30th October 2008, 15:14
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fedora777 View Post
If you mean the 2nd question, then my server will be vulnerable. Or can I restore the security after installation?
No, it will not be vulnerable. Please take a look at http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-server-fedora9
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error zlib to install ispconfig chua_jose Installation/Configuration 6 3rd January 2008 15:42
I have SpamAssassin installed/working, if I install ISPConfig now will this break it? AlyK Installation/Configuration 1 3rd January 2008 11:04
ISPConfig Install Host Name Dizfunkshunal Installation/Configuration 5 1st January 2008 15:51
ISPConfig 2.3.2-dev released till General 9 4th June 2007 10:46
fastcgi and php with ispconfig tosser Tips/Tricks/Mods 3 25th June 2006 21:01


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.